The November Wrap-Up

novemberDespite the fact that I’m already starting to go into hibernation mode from the cold and I have yet to start my Christmas shopping, I’m happy that December is here. Now I just need for time to slow down a bit so I can get a few things done and enjoy the holiday season. I may have to ask Santa for some kind of magical gadget to make that happen.

November was a hectic month, with a lot going on at work (I’m will be glad when that is no longer true) and general life busy-ness.  There was also some very good stuff that happened too, though, including a weekend trip to Barcelona with some girlfriends and a Thanksgiving feast with fellow expats. My husband had some Indian colleagues visiting for work, so we took the opportunity to check out some cool local museums that we had never been to before. I’ve realized this month that as much as I have a need to get things done, I also have to allow myself time and space for spontaneous adventures and extended periods of doing nothing useful at all. I’m hoping to do more of both in December.

My reading went pretty well this month. I didn’t get to participate in all the events that I had hoped to, including a readalong of Wilkie Collins’ The Moonstone and Aarti’s Diversiverse weekend. I did start The Moonstone and I’m actually really enjoying it, but my attention was a bit diverted *ahem* by a certain lovably awkward detective who I can’t seem to stop reading about (Karin Slaughter’s Will Trent). I read six books in November, three of which are from this series:

Bellman and Black: A Ghost Story by Diane Setterfield

This is the Story of a Happy Marriage by Ann Patchett

Fractured by Karin Slaughter

Undone by Karin Slaughter

The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick

Broken by Karin Slaughter

Honestly, I liked everything I read this month, and I’m caught up and on track to achieving my goal of reading 75 books this year. Which means it’s time for Middlemarch! My readalong of George Eliot’s classic novel officially starts today, and because it’s a long book I’m planning of spending most of the month with it. I haven’t forgotten about Wilkie, but I’ve decided to go back to the two novels I have in progress once #middlemarch13 is over and I can give them the concentration they deserve. I’m planning on taking part in The Estella Society’s Wilkie in Winter event which runs through February, so I hope to get some good Wilkie time in then.

I hope you had a good November and that your December brings all you could hope for and more.

4 thoughts on “The November Wrap-Up

  1. Letizia

    Isn’t it funny how we wait for visitors to arrive in order to explore the museums in our town? That always happens! Enjoy your reading and hope you get a chance to carve our some quiet time in this month of December.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

