Weekend Cooking: Sablés de Noël

sablés-de-noëlI have to admit that I’ve been a bit lazy about the whole Christmas thing this year. I haven’t had a lot of free time lately, and as a result the house has not been decorated–we don’t even have a tree. I did manage to jot off a few Christmas cards  and buy a couple of gifts, but it felt like a bare minimum of effort on my part. I’m seriously lacking in Christmas spirit.

Yesterday at work I put on some Michel Bublé in the hopes of giving myself a little holiday boost, but I’m not there yet. However, I’m hoping to get motivated enough by tomorrow to make up a batch of these traditional French butter cookies with the girls. This is a classic recipe that’s easy and fun to make with the kids, too, as they can use different cookie cutters and decorate to their little hearts’ content.

Les Petits Sablés de Noël

Makes approx. 20 cookies

Ingredients:

3 cups of flour

1 cup of sugar

2 tablespoons of cinnamon

125 g of butter

1 egg

1/2 a packet of dry yeast

1/2 cup of powdered almonds

candy decorations (sprinkles, m&m’s, or whatever you wish)

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 180°C (350°F). Cut the butter in pieces and soften in the microwave.
  2. Mix all the ingredients in a large bowl.
  3. Sprinkle your workspace with flour. Form a large ball of dough and roll it out.
  4. Cut shapes out of the dough and decorate them.
  5. Place the cookies on a buttered baking tray and cook for 15 minutes. Wait for a few minutes before tasting–and bon appetit!

Do you have a favorite holiday cookie or candy recipe?

Weekend Cooking is hosted by Beth Fish Reads and is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs…

 

14 thoughts on “Weekend Cooking: Sablés de Noël

  1. kimbacaffeinate

    These sound yummy. Beth, while my house is decorated, I have not done any shopping yet and will have to do so this week. I plan to rush around like a mad woman so that next weekend I can relax and bake. Ooo and wrap presents..LOL Hope the Holiday spirit captures you! Merry Christmas :)

    Reply
  2. Beth F

    Oh these sound lovely! And, yes, decorating cookies with kids is a lot of fun. I went to a cookie exchange this year and made bar cookies — is that cheating???

    Reply
  3. joyweesemoll

    Those look like fun.When the niece and nephews were small, I had them over to decorate Christmas cookies. Such a great time!

    Reply
  4. Lisa

    I don’t think I’ve ever made cookies with yeast! I’m intrigued. Our family Christmas tradition is making candy – fudge, peanut brittle, almond rocca – and I’ve added penuche to the list. It doesn’t feel like Christmas until the candy is made.

    Reply
  5. bookworm

    Oh how sweet, these looks so nice! I haven’t used my Christmas cookie cutters yet this year so I might just make a batch of these. I find that baking Christmas treats puts me in a festive mood, especially if there’s a Christmas movie or album on too!

    Reply
  6. Cecelia

    I feel the same about Christmas so far this year – I broke my ankle the weekend before Thanksgiving, and I’ve been sort of limping (literally & figuratively!) into the holiday season. I did do some holiday-esque baking this weekend, though – hope that helps! And maybe we’ll get a tree this week.

    Love seeing everyone’s go-to Christmas cookie recipes – thanks for sharing yours!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

