Six in Six for 2013

We still have about a week and a half left in 2013, but I doubt I’m going to have time to finish any additional books this year other than Middlemarch. I saw this meme over at Nishita’s blog and thought it would be a fun way to summarize my reading year.

Six authors that were new to me:

  1. Karin Slaughter
  2. Rainbow Rowell
  3. Matthew Quick
  4. Elizabeth Wein
  5. Susanna Kearsley
  6. Jeannette Walls

Six authors I had read before:

  1. Joshilyn Jackson
  2. Ann Patchett
  3. Charlotte Brontë
  4. Curtis Sittenfeld
  5. Deanna Raybourn
  6. Jojo Moyes

Six authors I am looking forward to reading more of:

  1. Michael Chabon
  2. Leigh Newman
  3. Madeline Miller
  4. Wiley Cash
  5. Liz Moore
  6. Nicole Wolverton

Six books I have enjoyed the most:

  1. Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein
  2. Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
  3. Heft by Liz Moore
  4. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
  5. The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller
  6. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Six books I was disappointed with:

  1. Before I Met You by Lisa Jewell
  2. The Last Letter From Your Lover by Jojo Moyes
  3. Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer
  4. The House at Belle Fontaine by Lily Tuck
  5. Sisterland by Curtis Sittenfeld
  6. The Expats by Chris Pavone

Six series of books read or started:

  1. Will Trent series by Karin Slaughter
  2. Last Survivors by Susan Beth Pfeffer

I’m actually really surprised that I don’t have more books in the series list, but I didn’t have a lot of time to devote to series this year because I had so much else to read. It’s also interesting to note that my favorites are equally divided between print and audio–I listened to some really great audiobooks this year.

What about you–what were your favorite books in 2013? 

5 thoughts on “Six in Six for 2013

Leave a Reply

