American Gods by Neil Gaiman

I finished it! I finished it! I’m so glad to finally be able to say that.

Once I had it in English, it was a breeze. I really did like this book, for all that it took me five months to read. The plot was complicated and interesting, the characters memorable, and Gaiman is an obvious intellectual who does his research (not to mention sexy in a nerdy kind of way). His writing style reminds me of Stephen King, although he has a voice that is all his own.

I don’t want to get into the specifics of the storyline for those of you who haven’t read it yet, but if I have one complaint it’s that the book felt a bit choppy at times. So many different things happen, in distinctive places, that it was like several short stories within a larger novel format. There’s so much going on that important elements of the story lose their dramatic impact. Gaiman does a good job of bringing things together at the end, but it made me wish I had read the book all at one go–maybe it would have felt more like a cohesive whole if I had. I also wasn’t completely satisfied with the ending for the main character. I like more resolution than I got with him.

But, all in all an impressive book, and I’ll definitely read more Gaiman if I get the chance.

Leave a Reply

