The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

I whipped through the book over the long weekend, and so can now give my own two cents on the bestseller. As if enough hadn’t already been written about it…

So I really liked it. Obviously, to have read it as quickly as I did. Dan Brown deserves an A+ for plotting–the man obviously thought things through well in advance and had a killer outline to work from. He did his research as well; the book is full of interesting intellectual argument. He gave me a lot to think about. However, I have to say that it may have almost been overkill in the info department. He has so much to tell you that his characters end up giving these huge monologues that come off as very unnatural in terms of dialogue. I almost would have preferred to get the same stuff from a non-fiction book.

In addition to my beef with the dialogue, the characterization is a bit shallow at times. I never got a feel for who Robert and Sophie really were, aside from these cookie-cutter “good guys”. I preferred his bad guys; at least they had some personality. And as for the forced scene of romance between the two…give me a break. Why even bother? They show zero sexual tension towards one another, and all of a sudden they engage in some sub-class nookie and decide to meet for a dirty weekend in Florence? I don’t think so. I hope they cut this part out of the movie, for the thought of Tom Hanks and Audrey Tautou making out kind of makes me want to heave.

All in all, a really good read. My favorite parts were when he describes the divine proportion and the art symbolism, both of which I found fascinating. We were driving past Milan when I read about ‘The Last Supper’, and it took all my self-control not to demand that Damien get off the highway and take me immediately to the museum so that I could check it out for myself. Maybe next time. For now, I’m going to try to get ‘Angels and Demons’ at the library so I can read about the first Langdon adventure as well.

Leave a Reply

