My ‘Mixing it Up’ Challenge 2012


This is the first challenge I’m signing up for in 2012, and it’s hosted by Musings of a Bookshop Girl.  The idea of the challenge is to mix up your reading by trying as many different genres as possible.  You can choose the level of commitment you want, from 4 to 16 genres, and the books you read to fulfill each genre are up to you.  I’ve decided to participate at the ‘Mixing Bowl’ level of 9-12 categories, and as I read books that fit each category I’ll be posting links to the reviews here.  So far, the two books I’ve reviewed this year fulfill two different categories, so it looks like I’m off to a good start!

1. Classics – North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell

2. Biography

3. Cookery, Food & Wine – Weeknights with Giada by Giada De Laurentiis, Me, You & the Kids, Too by Renee Elliott, The Naked Foods Cookbook by Margaret Floyd & James Barry

4. History – The Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka, Sarah Thornhill by Kate Grenville (historical fiction)

5. Modern Fiction – Dead in the Family by Charlaine Harris (+others in the series), The Peach Keeper by Sarah Addison Allen, I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella, Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning, Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella, The Patron Saint of Liars by Ann Patchett, The Charming Quirks of Others by Alexander McCall-Smith, A Grown-Up Kind of Pretty by Joshilyn Jackson

6. Graphic Novels & Manga

7. Crime and Mystery – Spying in High Heels by Gemma Halliday (+others in the series), In the Bleak Midwinter and A Fountain Filled with Blood by Julia Spencer-Fleming (+others in the series), Hollywood Confessions by Gemma Halliday, Hollywood Scandals by Gemma Halliday

8. Horror

9. Romance – Suddenly by Barbara Delinsky

10. Science Fiction & Fantasy – The Passage by Justin Cronin

11. Travel

12. Poetry & Drama

13. Journalism & Humor – MWF Seeking BFF by Rachel Bertsche, Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

14. Science & Natural History

15. Children’s & Young Adult – The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness, The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness, Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness

16. Social Sciences & Philosophy – Trip of the Tongue by Elizabeth Little

4 thoughts on “My ‘Mixing it Up’ Challenge 2012

  1. Ellie

    Wow, Beth, three down already? You’re on fire! Welcome to MiU2012, by the way… I’ve had a bit of a slow start to the reading year – I went on a music-buying kick instead and spent a lot of time flat out listening to it afterwards, oops – but hopefully February will be a bit more book-oriented! Happy reading!

    Reply
  2. elliepotten

    Hi Beth! Just dropping by to say hi as we hit our quarter-way point! Another two categories down, I see – doing well… I’m way behind on my challenges so far this year, including this one (oops) but I’m determined to get my butt in gear and catch up so I’ve at least made a valiant effort come December 31st! I just KNOW I’m going to get to November and have left all the harder books/categories until last… 🙂

    Reply
    1. Beth Post author

      Hi Ellie–thanks for checking in. I need to update my challenge post, as I think I’ve got a few more books to add in. Good luck keeping up with your own challenges!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

