Booking Through Thursday: Skipping

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme about books and reading.

Today’s question: Do you skip ahead in a book? Do you feel badly about it when you do?

This is something I rarely do, as I almost always regret it afterwards.  There are usually only two circumstances under which I would skip ahead in a book.  First, if the writing is so bad that I just need to satisfy my curiosity about what happens without actually having to drudge through the text, I might skip ahead to the pertinent resolution.  Secondly, and this is a flaw of mine as a reader, is if I can’t handle the suspense/intensity of what’s happening to the character.  Let’s face it–sometimes things just get so bad for a character that you have to reassure yourself that everything will, in fact, turn out okay (or not).  I used to have a bigger problem handling character drama, but now I usually have the self-control to wait out the resolution.  An exception to this would be if what’s happened to the character is so bad that the rest of the story doesn’t justify continuing to read through the bad stuff.  The last book that I read like this was Special Topics in Calamity Physics, by Marisha Pessl.  I gave up the book about halfway through because it really felt like a lost cause, and I even after skipping ahead to the ending, I didn’t feel any sense of peace about what happened to the character.  In that case, I definitely didn’t regret my decision to skip ahead–wading through it would have been much worse.

What about you?  Do you skip ahead in books?

3 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Skipping

  1. Misty Dawn

    Only rarely do I skip ahead, and it’s for the exact same reasons you do! Sometimes I’ll skip a few sentences if the author is being WAY overly descriptive. Don’t get me wrong, I like details and to be able to picture the scene and characters, but some authors get carried away with exsessive descriptions.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

