Weekend Cooking: Marilla’s Raspberry Cordial

Weekend Cooking is hosted by Beth Fish Reads and is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs…

“Diana poured herself out a tumblerful, looked at its bright-red hue admiringly, and then sipped it daintily. “That’s awfully nice raspberry cordial, Anne,” she said. “I didn’t know raspberry cordial was so nice.” Anne of Green Gables, Chapter 26

When I was younger, I had a major crush on a boy named Gilbert Blythe.  How can you not have a thing for a guy who appreciates intelligent, book-reading girls?  One who says ‘I’m sorry,’ with the cutest Canadian accent?  I think some of you may have known this boy, and maybe had a crush of your own.  But my bigger crush was on Anne herself, she of the fabulously “carrot” red hair and the tendancy to quote romantic poetry at the drop of a hat.

For Christmas, my parents gave me the 3-dvd set of the Anne of Green Gables miniseries, which I’ve seen countless times and now get to share with my own daughters.  The girls and I watched the first episode last Friday evening, and we’re gearing up for our second installment tonight.  In last week’s episode, Anne famously mistakes currant wine for raspberry cordial and gets her bosom friend, Diana, as drunk as a skunk.  Good times, and an excellent learning opportunity for my eight-year-old (cough).

As I have Anne on the brain at the moment, I decided to see if there was an Anne of Green Gables cookbook, and voila!  I definitely need to get a copy of it as soon as possible.  In the meantime, here’s a recipe from it that I found online–Marilla’s own raspberry cordial, which the girls and I will have to try and make sometime soon to add to the authenticity of our Anne experience!

Marilla’s Raspberry Cordial

Ingredients:

  • 2 (300 g) packages frozen raspberries
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 6 cups boiling water
  • 3 lemons

Directions:

  1. Put the unthawed raspberries into a saucepan and add sugar.
  2. Cook on medium, stirring occasionally until all the sugar ahs dissolved.
  3. Using a potato masher, mash the raspberries and syrup thoroughly.
  4. Pour the mixture through a strainer, extract all the juice.
  5. Squeeze two of the lemons and strain the juice, add it to the raspberry juice.
  6. Add the boiling water to the raspberry juice.
  7. Allow the cordial to cool, then chill it in the refrigerator.
  8. Serve cordial with a thin slice of lemon in each glass.
15 thoughts on “Weekend Cooking: Marilla’s Raspberry Cordial

    1. Beth Post author

      Lol, Jen. I was thinking the same thing! Raspberry Vodka Cordial, anyone? I definitely wouldn’t be allowed to hang out with Diana Berry.

      Reply
  1. TheBookGirl

    I have fond memories of these books, having read them with my daughter when she was little. It never would have occurred to me to look for an Anne cookbook — what fun!

    Reply
  2. Heather

    That sounds very refreshing. I have to admit not having read the Ann books. Don’t know why they never came to our house as it was full of books. curious.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you reading? | Too Fond

Leave a Reply

