Booking Through Thursday: Writing or Riveting?

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme about books and reading.

What’s more important: Good writing? Or a good story?

(Of course, a book should have BOTH, but…)

This is something that I’ve thought a lot about, because I enjoy both literary and genre fiction, and I find that the former tends have more of the first and the latter, the second.  Honestly, for me, a good story is more important than good writing.  A good story will keep me interested in a way that all the good writing in the world can’t if the story is lacking.  I think it’s a shame that a lot of good genre writing gets “written off”” (ha) as not being literary enough when there is so much good writing in genre.

What do you look for most in a book–the writing or the story?

One thought on “Booking Through Thursday: Writing or Riveting?

  1. Tanya Patrice

    Ooh excellent question. I can appreciate more, although I have to say in some of the books I’ve read where I didn’t care for the book, but recognized “good” writing – I was more willing to try another book by the author. But a good story with bad writing – I’ll move on and not pick up any more by the author.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

