A Month of Letters Challenge

While checking Twitter a few weeks ago, I noticed a tweet that started something like, “I went without internet for a whole month…”  Interested, I clicked on the link to find the website of Mary Robinette Kowel, a writer who has created The Month of Letters challenge, in which participants are to write a real letter every day for the month of February.  And although I love my email and social media as much as the next person (and not ignorant of the irony that I found out about the challenge via a tweet!), I’ve committed myself to joining in.  It’s true that the art of letter writing seems to be getting lost in the rapid-fire pace of modern communication, and there is something lovely about taking the time to draft a real letter to a friend–with all the reflection and crafting that is involved.

There are a few people I still write real letters to on an occasional basis, including my elderly grandmother and an old school friend from Ireland.  But this month I’m going to write a letter to a different person every day.  If you’re interested in joining in, the link above will take you to the website Kowel has put together for the challenge, where you can connect with other writers, too.

If you want to get a letter from me, feel free to leave a comment and I’ll add you to my list!

3 thoughts on “A Month of Letters Challenge

  1. Pingback: Sunday Salon: The February Wrap-Up | Too Fond

Leave a Reply

