Sunday Salon: The January Wrap-Up

I’m a bit late with this, but I wanted to do a quick recap of what I read and reviewed in January, as well as how I’m progressing on my challenges.

I read SEVEN books in January, which is really good for me.  That means that I’ve already completed 13% of my goal of reading 52 books this year (I had originally set a goal of 50, but I’ve upped it to 52 to take part in the 52 books in 52 weeks Challenge).

January Reads, Reviews, and Ratings:

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness – 5 stars

Spying in High Heels by Gemma Halliday – 4 stars

I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella – 4 stars

Alibi in High Heels by Gemma Halliday – 3 stars

Dead in the Family by Charlaine Harris – 3 stars

MWF Seeks BFF: My Yearlong Search for a New Best Friend by Rachel Bertsche – 3 stars

The Peach Keeper by Sarah Addison Allen – 2 stars

As you can see, I reviewed five out of the seven books, which I think is a pretty good start for this blog.  I don’t always feel inspired to review books that are in the middle of a series, as unless there is a big change in the quality of the stories, I think my review would be pretty redundant with whatever I wrote about a first book in a series.

As far as my challenges go, I’ve read one book that qualifies for the Why Buy the Cow? Challenge, and I’ve already read in five different genre categories for the Mixing it Up Challenge–which feels great.  I don’t think I should have any problem completing that one.  The other challenges which I plan to take part in but haven’t read anything that qualifies for yet include the Historical Fiction Reading Challenge and the Mount TBR Challenge.  I need to get going on these!  I also missed my first posting date for the Read More/Blog More poetry event, although I’ve read a galley copy of a new poetry book that should be perfect to review for the February date.  More on that to come!

One thought on “Sunday Salon: The January Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

