Booking Through Thursday: Top Five Books

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme about books and reading.

If you had to pick only 5 books to read ever again, what would they be and why?

This is a good question to get me out of hiding this week–is it just me or should we all be hibernating right now?  It sure feels like way after several weeks of sub-zero temperatures in our area.

Anyway, I think for me the best qualification for being one of my five books would be that reading this book changed me in some way and has the power to continue to inspire me, make me think, or see the world in a different way.  Here’s my list, in no particular order:

Rich in Love by Josephine Humphreys

The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro

Three Junes by Julia Glass

Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

The last one I’ve added on more because it never fails to satisfy.  I guess if you only get to read five books, they had better be ones that you could read over and over again!

What are your ‘top five’?

7 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Top Five Books

  1. Miz Moffatt

    Kazuo Ishiguro, now there’s an author I need to check out. His is a name that keeps popping up around me, and I’m thinking it’s time I check out one of his books (especially if you consider his work a Top 5 pick!) I picked an author named Hiroshi Yamamoto for my Top 5—he writes science fiction novels, but it’s the heavier kind filled with weighty consequences. I’d recommend it in a heartbeat.

    Thanks for sharing your picks!

    Reply
    1. Beth Post author

      I’m a huge Ishiguro fan–The Remains of the Day is one of the most perfect novels I have ever read. If you want something a bit more science-fiction-ey, his Never Let Me Go is great as well. Highly recommended author!

      Reply
  2. Valentina

    Prodigal Summer is fabulous. I debated whether to add that one or Poisonwood Bible on my list. Ihttp://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2012/02/booking-through-thursday_09.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

