Booking Through Thursday: Fan Fiction

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme about books and reading.

Have you every written any fan-fiction? If yes, why and for which book(s)? If no, would you like to and for which books(s)?

For that matter, do you ever READ fan-fiction??

I’ve never written any fan fiction, although I’ve thought about it for certain stories that I wish wouldn’t end, or that ended abruptly and/or lacked a satisfying resolution.  The only particular example I can think of would be for a t.v. show rather than a book–Veronica Mars.  I loved the show but it ended with lots of loose ends, and I can remember thinking how I would love to write the story of what happens next, if only to get to spend some more time with the characters that I had come to care about.

I’ve never read any fan fiction in particular, aside from a few stories here and there.  I would definitely be more interested in writing it than reading it, as the whole point for me is that I have a particular relationship with the characters–someone else’s interpretation of them would not be as relevant for me.

Now that I’m thinking about it, though, I wonder how books that are inspired by other books fit into this genre.  Do retellings of the same story count as fan fiction?  What about books that incorporate characters from other books?  It seems like there is a fuzziness to the genre that could potentially include all of these kinds of writing.

3 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Fan Fiction

Leave a Reply

