Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Covers

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s top ten list is of favorite book covers. I love a beautiful cover, and may (ahem) have been known to buy a book or two on the basis of the cover alone.  This is a bad tendancy as it results in an even bigger TBR pile that I never manage to get through.  Anyway, here are some of my favorites:

1. 50th anniversary edition of To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. My parents gave me this edition as a gift one year, and I love the cover so much.

2. The Tale of Murasaki by Lisa Dalby.  Lisa Dalby is an interesting story in herself, being an anthropologist specializing in Japanese culture who actually practiced as a real geisha. I bought this book a while ago and have never found the time to read it, but the cover is great, with beautiful, rich colors.

3. The Maisie Dobbs series by Jacqueline Winspear.  All the covers in this series are great, with a very vintage look that fits perfectly with the stories themselves.

4. The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai.  I can’t remember who gave me this book, but it has a lovely cover, again with the vivid colors.

5. The historical novels of Beverly Swerling.  I love all the covers in this series, too, which remind me of old maps and paintings. The one from City of Dreams is particularly nice.

6. The Wolves of Mercy Falls series by Maggie Stiefvater. There’s something about the simplicity of these covers that really appeals to me.

7. Across the Universe by Beth Revis.  I’ve never read this book, but I’ve come across it frequently on other book blogs, and it always strikes me.  Lovely cover.

8. Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson.  This book is on my wish list at the library.  I love the way the coats and hats look like they’re embracing, and the colors are nice, too, very soft and almost faded.

9. How to Breathe Underwater, a collection of short stories by Julie Orringer, has a very evocative cover.  It takes me right back to my childhood, to living in the country and spending the summer swimming in creeks. I’m on the waiting list for her latest book at the library, and it has a beautiful cover, too.

10. Enna Burning by Shannon Hale.  The cover of the book reminds me of a painting–and I love the fox.

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Covers

  1. Pingback: Booking Through Thursday: Cover Story | Too Fond

Leave a Reply

