Booking Through Thursday: More!

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme about books and reading.

Which non-series book would you most like to read the sequel to? Do you have any wishes for what might happen in it?

I’ve always wanted for there to be a sequel to one of my favorite books, Rich in Love by Josephine Humphreys.  I read this book as a teenager and related closely to the narrator, 17-year-old Lucille, and I wanted to know what happened to her as an adult.  The ending of the book leaves it open:

“I don’t think I will marry,” I say out loud to Phoebe, who is kicking her heavy white shoes into my thighs.  “I’m not afraid to live alone.”  But I am honest with Phoebe, at least for the time being, and I say, “But who knows what will happen?  We’ll have to wait and see.”

12 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: More!

  1. Cathy

    I haven’t heard of this one, but that quote is perfect. Sounds a lot like me. I was just saying the same thing this morning ha too funny. Here’s my BTT.

    Reply
    1. Beth Post author

      I couldn’t find an image of the cover that matches mine, but I like it even better–with a houes by the sea and an old pickup truck.

      Reply
  2. Michael

    Sounds like they were setting up for a sequel there.

    I recently read John Green’s “The Fault in Our Stars” which has an interesting take on the sequels.

    Reply
    1. Beth Post author

      Yes! I love the movie, too, with Kyle MacLaughlan as the brother-in-law. Ethan Hawke is so young and sweet in it–probably the same era as Dead Poets Society.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

