Booking Through Thursday: Anything You Can Do, I Can Do Better

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme about books and reading.

Ever read a book you thought you could have written better yourself?

I’m an English teacher–I can’t read anything without editing it in my head!  Having said that, writing is a seriously hard job and I have every respect for those who do it successfully.  I would never dare say that I could write a story better than its creator.  However, I’ve often thought that if just a few little things were changed here and there, plot points ironed out and dialogue cleaned up, that a certain book would be perfect. I can’t think of an example of an entire book that I would completely re-write, though.

4 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Anything You Can Do, I Can Do Better

  1. kimba88

    First let me say that spelling and sentence structure are the bane of my existences, and i would need a serious editing staff..lol So i can appreciate how hard putting together a novel is. I totally agree with you and have often though to myself, a little snip here, add a little there, drop that plot. Many books I have read could have been an over the top coffee flowing five with a little tweaking. This is one of the reasons I like series, with progressive arcs and character growth. It is such a pleasure watching an author hone their skill. Lovely thoughts today!

    Reply
  2. Melinda Dozier

    I agree with you! I’m also an English teacher and always have “Grammar Police” turned on. I wish I could turn it off sometimes. What a pain! However, most books are too good to want to change. Maybe there are scenes or paragraphs that could be better, but who are we to change another writer’s words? I know how hard it is to get words on paper!

    Took a look at your blog. I really like it. 🙂

    Happy Thursday,
    Melinda Dozier

    Reply

Leave a Reply

