Top Ten Tuesday: Spring Fever

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s top ten list is of the Top Ten Books I’d Play Hooky With.  As the weather has been beautiful around here lately, I haven’t been very motivated to be stuck inside an office building all day.  I’d love to take a day off and dive into one of these books…

1. A Grown-Up Kind of Pretty by Joshilyn Jackson.  I downloaded this book on audio recently, but I haven’t had time to listen to more than a chapter or two.  I’d like nothing better than to put on my headphones, lie back in a sunny spot, and spend the day lost in this story by one of my favorite writers.

2. The Sparks Fly Upward by Diana Norman.  I’ve read the first two books in this series, but I haven’t had time to get to the third yet.  The historical aspect of the novel makes it a perfect “escape” book for a day of reading hooky.

3. State of Wonder by Ann Patchett.  Everyone is talking about this book, and I haven’t had a chance to get my hands on it yet.  Patchett is also another of my favorite writers.

4.  Austenland by Shannon Hale.  Speaking of escapism…how about a day in Austenland?

5.  Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Coast Trail by Cheryl Strayed.  I’ve had my eye on this one for several weeks now, and I would love to spend the day being transported on someone else’s adventure in the wild.

6.  To Darkness and To Death by Julia Spencer-Fleming.  I’m making myself be patient and not read all of this series at once, but I’m up to number four and would love to splurge on it and spend the day reading the next installment of the Clare & Russ saga.

7.  The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen.  This is the only book by her that I’ve yet to read (I think), and it would be a great hooky book.

8.  Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella.  I read the latest Kinsella recently and loved it, but I’ve never read this standalone book by her.  Sounds like a fun way to pass the day.

9.  Among the Mad by Jacqueline Winspear.  This is the next book for me in the Maisie Dobbs series, which has it all–a likeable heroine, a little romance, a lot of mystery, and a great setting in post WWI England.

10. Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater.  I started listening to this book on audio sometime last year, but I never got a chance to finish it.  I’d like to try reading it again, this time maybe in print form.

I think I could have included a lot more than 10 books on this list!  What about you?  What books would you play hooky for?

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Spring Fever

Leave a Reply

