Booking Through Thursday: Relating

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme about books and reading.

Are there any fictional characters whom you have emulated (or tried to)? Who and why?

or

What literary character do you feel is most like you personality-wise (explain)?

I was very influenced by fictional characters as a child.  I’ve always been a big reader, and I’m sure in my own mind I actually was Laura Ingalls Wilder, or Anne Shirley, or whomever my favorite of the moment happened to be.  As I got older, one book I read where I can clearly remember thinking, “That is ME,” was Cat’s Eye by Margaret Atwood.  It’s been a long time since I read it, so I’m not sure I would still feel that way, but the main character is a woman who has a complicated friendship that reminded me so much of one I had as a teenager–I could really relate to her character.  I also connected closely to Phoebe in The Invisible Circus by Jennifer Egan, and Lucille in Rich in Love by Josephine Humphries (here I am talking about that book again!)

As an adult, I think I’m more “inspired” by particular characters than I feel that they are like me.

2 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Relating

  1. laurelrainsnow

    Ah, so you are the one who talked about Rich in Love! I’ve been scratching my head and trying to remember…anyway, I ordered the movie and watched it last weekend. LOVED it! I’d seen it before, but not in a long while. Now I want to read the book.

    Invisible Circus was my favorite book by Jennifer Egan.

    Here’s MY THURSDAY MEMES POST

    Reply

Leave a Reply

