Booking Through Thursday: Recommendation

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme about books and reading.

If someone asked you for a book recommendation, what is the FIRST book you’d think to recommend (without extra thought)?

Wow–I like this question, but I find it to be a difficult one because it would depend on who was asking.  I definitely tailor my recommendations to the person and what I know about their likes and dislikes.  If I had to pick one book that I would recommend to ANYONE without hesitation, it would probably be something with real mass appeal, like The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Hadden or The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith.  I enjoyed both of these books, (although I wouldn’t count them among my all-time favorites) and I think they have a little something for everyone.

What one book would you recommend?

8 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Recommendation

  1. Vicki

    I have The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency in my TBR pile. I borrowed The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time for my Kindle but it ran out before I got to it, so I’m on the waiting list again.
    Here’s My BTT

    Reply
  2. DawnTreader

    I agree the No 1 Ladies’ would be a rather safe choice (the other one I haven’t read). Just now I’m rather absorbed by the book I’m currently reading so that’s what I chose
    Here’s mine

    Reply

Leave a Reply

