Dewey’s Read-a-Thon: Mini-Challenge #2

On to mini-challenge #2!  This one comes from Reading Through Life:

  1. If you could read any book that’s been translated into English in its ORIGINAL language, what would it be?  I have quite a few French books on my TBR pile, and I know I should make more time to read in French.  One I’m really looking forward to is L’Elégance du Hérisson (The Elegance of the Hedgehog) by Muriel Barbery, which came out a few years ago and was quite popular both in the original and in translation.
  2. Include the original book’s cover if possible; if you want, also post the English cover for comparison.  Here’s the cover of the edition I have, as well as one from the English translation.
  3. Optional imaginary bonus points: post a sentence from the book in its original language.  Here’s the book’s first line (en français, bien sûr!)…”Marx change totalement ma vision du monde, m’a déclaré ce matin le petit Pallières qui ne m’adresse d’ordinaire jamais la parole.”
2 thoughts on “Dewey’s Read-a-Thon: Mini-Challenge #2

  1. jkinlaw

    When I saw this challenge, I thought of “The Elegance Of A Hedgehog” as well. Especially because I thought perhaps the translated version was not exactly what was originally written.

    Happy Reading! I hope your read-a-thon is going well!

    –Your friendly read-a-thon cheerleader Janel

    Reply

Leave a Reply

