Dewey’s Read-a-Thon: Final Recap

So, my first Read-a-Thon is officially over!  Here’s the books I ended up reading:

1. The Submission by Amy Waldman – HALFWAY FINISHED

2. Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella – FINISHED!

I knew I’d never get through all of them, but I’m happy to say that I got a lot of quality reading time in.  And to be fair, I didn’t finish Twenties Girl until this afternoon, after the official end time of the Read-a-Thon, but it was pretty close.

And, to put the cherry on top of the sundae, I won one of the mini-challenges!  Thanks to Book Drunkard for choosing my acrostic description of The Submission.  I had fun with that one.

Here’s my end-of-event meme…

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? The first few hours were the hardest, as my youngest daughter was sick yesterday morning and I could see my read-a-thon time slipping away.  Luckily she was feeling better by the afternoon.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? Twenties Girl was a great Read-a-Thon choice, as it was a fast and entertaining read.
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Maybe explain the events a bit more clearly ahead of time?  I didn’t really know what to expect, and I found I had a hard time keeping up with the mini-challenges and reading, too.
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? I loved having a cheerleader come by and cheer me on–that was really nice!
  5. How many books did you read? 2 partial, 1 completed.
  6. What were the names of the books you read? See above!
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? They were both good in different ways.  Next time, I’ll know to pick easy reads to keep my motivation up.
  8. Which did you enjoy least? I liked them both, but Twenties Girl was a better choice for quick reading.
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? Just keep doing what you do!
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? I definitely want to do it again, and I’d love to be a Cheerleader.

Thanks for the fun day, and see you next Read-a-Thon!

4 thoughts on “Dewey’s Read-a-Thon: Final Recap

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you reading? | Too Fond

  2. Pingback: Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella | Too Fond

  3. Pingback: Sunday Salon: The April Wrap-Up | Too Fond

  4. Pingback: The Sunday Post | Too Fond

Leave a Reply

