Sunday Salon: The April Wrap-Up

April was a pretty slow reading month for me!  Although I started quite a few new books, I actually only finished four this month, which is going to hurt my average.  The good news is that I did manage to review them all.

For a re-cap, in April I read:

A Grown-Up Kind of Pretty by Joshilyn Jackson, 4.5 stars

Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella, 3.5 stars

Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning, 3 stars

The Patron Saint of Liars by Ann Patchett, 3.5 stars

Far and away, my favorite was A Grown-Up Kind of Pretty.  I have yet to read a Joshilyn Jackson book that I don’t love, and this one was no exception.

I celebrated National Poetry Month in April by sharing some of my favorite poems, including The Lanyard by Billy Collins and Ode to My Socks by Pablo Neruda.

My favorite reading event in April, though, was definitely Dewey’s Readathon.  Although I didn’t read for 24 hours straight, it was nice to have an excuse to make reading a priority on a lazy weekend at home, and the mini-challenges were lots of fun.  I even won a $10 gift certificate for The Book Depository!

Now that May is here, I’m hoping the weather will start to cooperate and bring us some sunshine so I can get busy with one of my favorite warm-weather activities–reading in the park.

4 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: The April Wrap-Up

  1. Becca

    I’ve yet to read any of Josilyn Jackson’s books, but I’m thinking I must. Are there audio versions, I wonder?

    Happy reading in May 🙂

    Reply
    1. Beth Post author

      Becca, I’ve “read” all of them on audio, and they’re wonderful! In fact, Jackson narrates them herself, and she does a great job.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

