Armchair BEA Day 1 – Introductions First

Design credit: Nina of Nina Reads

I wasn’t sure I would have time to participate in Armchair BEA, but here I am–I just can’t pass up such a fun opportunity to talk about books all week! For all of you lucky enough to actually be at BEA, have a great time!  For the rest of us, it seems like Armchair BEA is the next best thing to being there.

For this introduction post, we’re asked to answer at least five of the interview questions and visit as many other bloggers as possible.  So here goes nothing:

1. Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging?  I’m an American expat living in France with my froggie husband and two little girls.  I’ve been blogging ever since we moved here in 2004 (on my personal blog) but have only recently started the book blog, as of the beginning of this year.  I love blogging but felt like I was limiting myself by only writing the personal blog, which started to feel too much like a diary written to myself, and I wanted to reach out to other bloggers and be part of a community.  And what better way to do that than by talking about books?

2. What are you currently reading, or what is your favorite book you have read so far in 2012?

I just started Why is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling.  I’ve heard really good things about this book and am looking forward to a fun read.  My favorite book so far in 2012 is The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness.  It blew me away!

3. Tell us one non-book-related thing that everyone reading your blog may not know about you.

I was an English teacher for many years, though I’ve just recently gone into education administration instead.  I loved teaching but got pretty burnt out, and the change of pace has been nice.  I still don’t feel like I’ve figured out what I want to be when I grow up, though.  I have visions of myself running around the world and saving small children–kind of like a superhero Mother to All…not sure how that’s going to work out.

4. If you could eat dinner with any author or character, who would it be and why?

I would love to have dinner with Joshilyn Jackson, author of some dynamite contemporary Southern fiction.  Her writing is hilarious and touching and really resonates with me, and she’s my imaginary author best friend.

5. What literary location would you most like to visit? Why?

I take those literary tours just about every chance I get–last year I did one of Sherlock Holmes’ London.  I wouldn’t mind doing one of Brontë’s wild moors in England, or the Twilight tour in Forks, Washington.  I can handle the kitsch!

7 thoughts on “Armchair BEA Day 1 – Introductions First

  1. Felicia the Geeky Blogger

    I did a Jack the Ripper tour in London where they talked about books based on the Ripper–it was a fantastic tour. They really did make the financial district appear scary 🙂

    I am going to have to look up Joshilyn Jackson. I love Southern fiction!

    Great to meet you 🙂

    Reply
  2. Aneeqah

    I really ended up loving The Knife of Never Letting Go! It’s such an awesome book that so many people don’t know about, unfortunately. It’s so neat that you’re living in France! I love talking to people who live overseas, and seeing how living in a different country is different from living in the US. It’s always so fascinating to me. =)

    It was lovely getting to know you! Have fun during Armchair BEA!

    -Aneeqah @ My Not So Real Life

    Reply
  3. Bellezza

    I’m sure it’s not wonderful all the time, but how lovely to live in France. I’ve spent several summers of my life there, and just loved it. I also lived in Germany in the mid-80’s when I taught with the Department of Defense. It’s interesting how you’re in administration now; I don’t think I could leave the classroom, after 28 years, but the educational system in America is at an all time low in my opinion. The morale of the teachers is terrible, and it’s all I can do to keep everyone encouraged. We do it for the children, after all. Happy BEA Week!

    Reply
    1. Beth Post author

      I have a lot of admiration for teachers who manage to stay committed and motivated in their career–it’s such a tough one. Thanks so much for stopping by, and Happy BEA to you!

      Reply
  4. Pingback: The Sunday Post | Too Fond

    1. Beth Post author

      I actually just read about someone taking it–apparently it’s called the Dazzled by Twilight tour! Too funny.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

