Booking Through Thursday: Do-Over

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme about books and reading.

Sally asks:

Have you ever bought a book, started reading it and then realised you have already read it? If so, how far did you get? (Can you tell this happened to me for the first time ever this week!?!)

And–did you keep reading??

I’ve done this several times before, particularly when there’s a writer who I read a lot when I was younger and that I’ve gone back to later to re-read.  There was a book by Philippa Gregory that I read and was almost certain I had read before–I think it was one of the books in the Wildacre trilogy.

Similarly, I recently requested a book from BookMooch and realized that I already had it on my shelf but hadn’t read it.  It was When We Were Orphans by Kazuo Ishiguro.  I’ve done the same thing with series books when I can’t remember the last one I read–particularly with Alexander McCall Smith books.

I should do a giveaway with all the books I ended up having two copies of because I didn’t remember that I’d already read them!

7 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Do-Over

  1. kimbacaffeinate

    before i kept a massive spreadsheet and GR this would happen ..especially when a new cover was issued or an old series was brought back. I had/have a good relationship with my bookstore and I would take it back..we all would share a laugh and I would pick a new book. Now I have my handy-dandy lists and the world is good.

    Reply
  2. Judith

    Fun question! I had one book where I read half-way and then there was a terrible accident that sounded so familiar. I must have read this book before, but I couldn’t remember anything at all about the rest of the book!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

