Weekend Cooking: Pecan Popovers

We spent the Fourth of July holiday in the small town of Dahlonega in North Georgia, staying in a cabin owned by friends of the family. It was a good (hot!) time.  I ran a 5k race on the morning of the 4th, we listened to a reading of the Constitution on the courthouse steps, and we were spectators at a watermelon eating contest–no hands allowed!  And of course, as the sky darkened to night we watched fireworks light it up.

If you’re not familiar with Dahlonega, it’s an old mining town with an interesting history, and it’s popular with tourists today.  One of the shops downtown sells homemade jams and jellies as well as old-fashioned cookbooks, and my mom picked up the Old-Fashioned Muffin Recipes book, published by Bear Wallow Books.

The book gives a brief history of different kinds of baked goods in the U.S., and the collection includes lots of different recipes for muffins as well as biscuits, johnny cakes, popovers, spoon bread and more.  One of the recipes that caught my eye was for Pecan Popovers.  Pecans and peaches are big here in Georgia, so in honor of our stay in my home state, here’s the recipe for you to try:

Pecan Popovers

2 eggs
1 cup milk
1 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1/4 cup pecans, finely chopped

Heat in oven 6-8 custard cups. Meanwhile, beat together eggs, milk, flour and salt until well blended.  Add oil and beat 30 seconds more.  Stir in chopped pecans.  Remove cups from oven, butter and fill 2/3 full.  Bake at 450 degrees F for 20 minutes.  Reduce heat to 350 degrees F and bake 15-20 additional minutes until sides of popovers are firm.  Serve hot.

I have to say, after looking through several vintage cookbooks, I think I may need to start a new collection.  It’s so much fun to go back and read recipes that have been around for several generations, especially the ones that are somewhat outdated.  I love the combination of history and cooking!  Maybe that will be a new research area for me to explore when I go back and do my PhD one of these days…

Weekend Cooking is hosted by Beth Fish Reads and is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs…

12 thoughts on “Weekend Cooking: Pecan Popovers

    1. Beth Post author

      It’s been a while since I made some, but I remember popovers as being much lighter than a muffin, which is more dense. The closest thing I can think to compare a popover to is a yorkshire pudding (if that helps at all!)

      Reply
  1. Beth F

    I love looking through old cookbooks. I pick them up at yard sales and flea markets. I even have a couple from the 1800s.

    These popovers sound wonderful. I just happen to have pecans in my freezer. Now it’d only cool down a bit.

    Reply
    1. Beth Post author

      Beth, tell me about it! I’ll have to save most of these recipes for later months when I can actually stand to turn on my oven. Good luck staying cool–

      Reply

Leave a Reply

