Weekend Cooking: Mirabelle Tart

It’s a bit of a cliché to say that I fell in love with food in France, but it’s true. Not because I’m such a huge fan of traditional French food, which can be a bit heavy for my tastes, but because it’s from living here that I’ve learned to appreciate just how good simple recipes with fresh ingredients can be.  I’ve come to enjoy foods that I didn’t think I liked before (whether because of the preparation method or just from a lack of familiarity), and I’ve encountered new ones to which I had never been exposed.

One of those foods is the mirabelle plum.  Now, maybe there are mirabelles in the U.S., but being from the peach state we didn’t go in much for plums when I was growing up.  These little sweet beauties are delicious, though, and at the moment they are ripe for the picking here (or picking up off the ground, as they’re falling off the trees).  We have a family friend with several mirabelle trees in his garden, and he generously shared a big crate of them with us last night.

So, now I have to figure out what to do with them all.  I don’t really have enough to make jam, plus it’s just too darn hot.  I think we’ll keep the prettiest ones for eating and with the rest I’m going to make a tart.  Here’s a recipe that’s simple, natural, and exemplifies what I love best about French cooking.

Mirabelle Tart
recipe from http://www.bonjourlafrance.com

Ingredients (for 6 people)

  • 250 g pâte brisée
  • 500 g mirabelles
  • 50 g fresh cream
  • 25 g flour
  • 50 g sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 large pat of butter

Procedure

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  2. Butter a pie or a tart mold and line it with pâte brisée. Bake for 10 minutes.
  3. Wash the mirabelles. Cut them in half and stone them. Lay the fruit halves decoratively on the pastry.
  4. In a bowl beat the eggs and the flour. Add sugar and fresh cream.
  5. Pour the batter over the pastry and spread it evenly over the surface.
  6. Put in the oven for 35 minutes and check regularly to see when it’s baked.

Et voila!

tarte aux mirabelles by vincen-t, on Flickr
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 2.0 Generic License  by  vincen-t 

(To be fair, that’s not actually my tart.  My cooking photos never turn out that pretty, but you get the idea.)

Weekend Cooking is hosted by Beth Fish Reads and is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs…

16 thoughts on “Weekend Cooking: Mirabelle Tart

  1. Libby

    Ditto on the mirabelle – maybe they don’t have them in the US(?) But, now I want to make a plum tart with whatever plums they DO have! Lucky you living and eating in France!!

    Reply
  2. Beth F

    Oh I love these. We do have mirabelles, but they are called something else. I bought them just the other week. Little round yellow plums. I bought little round red plums this week, but there aren’t enough left to make this lovely tart.

    Reply
  3. Carole

    Sounds like a nice tart – and not too sweet which is great from my point of view. Hope you are having a nice week. My Weekend Cooking contribution was a salmon pizza.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: The Sunday Post – Issue #6 | Too Fond

  5. marmeladegypsy

    This look absolutely delicious. And I know what you mean about falling in love with food in France. There is no better spot! I found you by Paris in July — I have one last Paris post on The Marmelade Gypsy if you have time to stop by. Yes, I know it’s August. I’m a slow reader!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

