The Sunday Post

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~ It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

I’ve been back from vacation for 10 days now, and I still feel like I’m trying to get back into the swing of a regular routine.  I’ve been back at work for a week (busy, busy!), back on my own computer which makes blogging a lot easier, and now I need to start getting myself organized again.  But wait, it’s still summer, right?  Maybe it would be better to veg out in front of the tv watching the Olympics and leave the productivity until September.

Our girls are visiting their grandmother this week, which means the house is way too quiet, but I’ve had lots of reading time. That’s a good thing, since I signed up for the Olympic Readathon sponsored by Random House of Canada.  I’ve set myself a goal of reading 1000 pages during the time period of the Olympic Games, and so far I’m off to a good start!

The other challenge I have coming up is the North and South Read-a-Long hosted by Estella’s Revenge and The Capricious Reader.  I’ve heard good things about Elizabeth Gaskell and I need to kick it up a notch in my reading of historical fiction for the year, so I’m looking forward to tackling the book with some great fellow readers and bloggers.

So what’s new on the blog this week?  Well, I participating in the Teaser Tuesday meme with a teaser from Faefever by Karen Marie-Moning and WWW Wednesday to detail what I’ve been reading lately and what’s on my reading horizon.  I also wrote two posts for Paris in July:

After seeing the long list of books I brought back from the U.S., I guess you’d think my book buying has calmed down since being back home.  And it has–although I couldn’t help but take advantage of a great Kindle daily deal for The Princess Bride by William Goldman.  I adore the movie but have never read the book, so I couldn’t pass up the chance.  I also downloaded North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell from Girliebooks to get ready for the Read-a-Long, and I borrowed The Passage by Justin Cronin from the library.  It was finally my turn on the waiting list–I’ve heard so many good things about this book!

Happy Sunday, all!  What’s new with you this week?

11 thoughts on “The Sunday Post

  1. Marg

    The Passage is such a good read!

    Given that you are reading North and South, make sure you have the mini-series adaptation by the BBC nearby to watch (and swoon over!)

    Reply
  2. Leah @Leah's Lit and Coffee

    Please post your review on The Passage after you’ve read it. I’ve heard great things about it too, but nothing great enough to make me move it up on my TBR list. It’s been sitting on my bookshelf for almost a year!!!

    Just passing through to see your Sunday Post. Have a good one! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Barbara

    Well, I have the Olympics on while I run around commenting and things. I wait until something like basketball is one and then read. 🙂 I can’t believe I missed The Princess Bride deal – I would have snatched that up in a second.

    Good luck getting back into your groove and with your challenge!

    My Sunday Post

    Reply
  4. kimbacaffeinate

    I am so delighted you are reading The Passage. I loved this book, the world-building is fantastic and the number one book I am drooling over in anticipation is book two The Twelve..eep! Sounds like you had a pretty good reading week. I know exactly what you mean about vacation catch up, I have felt the same way. Good luck with your read-a-thon and 1000 page challenge. Thanks so much for being a part of The Sunday Post

    Reply
  5. Trish

    I say just take it easy in August? 😉 I’m struggling with the same thing after having gotten back from vacation two weeks ago and now we’ll be gone this coming weekend again.

    I just started North and South yesterday. I’ll mostly be listening to it but might try to find a used copy to thumb through (have a Kindle copy but I find classics hard to read electronically). I hope you enjoy it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

