Weekend Cooking: Ratatouille

Ratatouille by colin_n, on FlickrCreative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.0 Generic License  by  colin_n

I really should have posted this recipe during Paris in July, because it is the French summer recipe, but I didn’t get all the garden goodies until now, so it will have to be Paris in August.  French people love their gardens, and just as we were dealing with an abundance of mirabelles a few weeks ago, now we have a flood of zucchini to deal with.  Throw in a few tomatoes, peppers, and an eggplant, and you’ve got yourself a potful of ratatouille.

Not only does this recipe use the best of summer veggies, it also takes advantage of a lot of lovely herbs–thyme, rosemary, and bay leaves–that are at the heart of French provençal cooking.  Here they sell them all wrapped up in a nice little packet called a bouquet garni, but you could use an all-purpose herbes de provence mix, too.

I use a pressure cooker to make my ratatouille, but here’s a recipe that you can make in a Dutch oven (from Marmiton.org, translation by moi):

Ingredients (for 4 people):
–  2 onions
–  2 zucchini
–  2 eggplants
–  2 green peppers
–  2 red pepers
–  4 tomatos
–  2 cloves of garlic
–  olive oil
–  salt & pepper
–  herbes de Provence (thyme, rosemary, and bay leaves, esp.)


Steps
:
1. Cut up all the veggies into small, uniform chunks.  Don’t forget to de-seed the tomatoes.
2. Heat the olive oil in the bottom of a Dutch oven and then add the cut-up veggies in the following order (according to cooking time): eggplant and zuchinni; salt and pepper; herbs; onion and peppers; tomatoes; crushed garlic cloves.  Let each veggie cook for 2-3 minutes before adding the next one.
3. Cook for around 20 minutes.  Serve hot or cold, with a drizzle of olive oil.

You can watch the video of this recipe being made on Marmiton.org:

Ratatouille Cooking Video

I like to eat my ratatouille hot on a bed of couscous, topped with grated cheese and Tabasco sauce.  The taste of summer!

Weekend Cooking is hosted by Beth Fish Reads and is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs…

17 thoughts on “Weekend Cooking: Ratatouille

  1. MJ

    I really need to try ratatouille again. I was never a fan, but my tastes have expanded in recent years. I like the idea of having it over couscous, which I love 🙂

    Reply
  2. Chinoiseries

    Ratatouille, so perfect with fresh summer ingredients 🙂 I can’t believe I haven’t made it in a while… though I have never considered cooking this dish in a pressure cooker. Does it save a lot of cooking time?

    Reply
    1. Beth Post author

      I actually think I’m going to try it in a regular pan next time, as it can be tricky not to get the veggies too mushy in the pressure cooker. But it does make all the flavors blend together nicely.

      Reply
  3. Meg

    Well, that sounds and looks absolutely delicious! My only experience with ratatouille is, of course, watching the movie of the same name. It looks great! I actually bought my boyfriend some herbes de Provence in the spring, and that sounds like a wonderful way to experiment with them.

    Reply
  4. celialarsen

    I have never made a ratatouille, but I have been intrigued by the dish ever since I watched the Disney film (yes, this is real). I shall have to try it while the veggies are all locally available and fresh!

    Reply
    1. Beth Post author

      It’s really not hard at all, it just takes time to cut up all the veggies. But it makes a lot and you can freeze the leftovers, so I think it’s worth the effort!

      Reply
  5. Trish

    This sounds absolutely delicious!! I’ve been looking for a ratatouille recipe and I bet this will work just perfectly. Maybe for the fall when the heat from the recipe warms us up in a good way. 😉

    Reply
  6. Kailana

    I am not sure I have ever had this before. My sister-in-law made some for her parents the last time we were there visiting, but I didn’t try any. Maybe I should make some at some point.

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Sunday Salon: The August Wrap-Up | Too Fond

Leave a Reply

