Booking Through Thursday: Sniffle

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme about books and reading.

Jamie asks:

What was the most emotional read you have ever had?

The last book I can remember just boohooing over was Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness.  That whole series just slayed me; I literally thought I was going to spring a leak somewhere from crying so hard.  It’s funny (not funny ha-ha, but funny weird) because I don’t cry very often in real life.  I’m a bit of a stoic, and I even tend to get uncomfortable around really emotional people.  But there’s something about books and movies that frees up all my emotions, and I cry over things I read or watch all the time.

What about you–what’s your latest “three hankie” book?

8 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Sniffle

  1. Brooke

    I”m sitting here trying to think of the last time a book made me cry and it’s hard. The Game of Thrones books get me very emotional, but I’ve never wept during them. I will say that dogs dying is an instant ugly cry moment for me no matter what so I stay away from them entirely – I’m looking at you Marley and Me.

    Reply
    1. Beth Post author

      There’s a terribly sad dog death in the Ness trilogy–yet another reason why I cried my way through them. I can’t read anything that has to do with children getting hurt/abused and animals are almost as rough.

      Reply
  2. Trish

    Unfortunately it’s been a while since I’ve had a good cry over a book. I LOVE when it happens but none of the books I’ve been reading lately are that type. Not like Time Traveler’s Wife that kept me up until 2 am sobbing. 😉

    I’ve been wanting to read Monsters of Men.

    Reply
    1. Beth Post author

      Trish, you absolutely should! The trilogy is just wonderful. It took me awhile to get into as Ness has a very unique writing style, but once I did I could not put them down.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

