Sunday Salon: The Classics Club

Edited: I’ve made some changes to my list, so for the current list with links to reviews, check out my Classics Club page.

After finishing up North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell yesterday, I went a little crazy.  I started thinking about other books by Gaskell that I’d like to read, which led me to think about books by other writers that I want to read, until I found myself making my classics club list. I’ve had this in the back of my mind for a while, but I wasn’t quite ready to commit. Something about North and South just pushed me over the edge, maybe because it made me realize that I could pretty much only read Victorian literature and still easily come up with a list of 50 books.

I’ve not been that narrow in my focus, although it’s pretty obvious from this list what type of book I prefer. About half of the list are books that I already own and either haven’t read in so long that they merit a good re-read, or else I’ve never found the time to pick them up. Others are additions that I’ve always meant to read or that are important to know because they are frequently referenced in the wider literature (for example, The Mysteries of Udolpho).

So, without further ado, here’s my list of 50 classic novels to be read in the next five years. That means I have until August 26, 2017 (at which point I will be 41 years old, that’s a scary thought!) I’ll link back to the list every time I finish and review a book.

My List

Austen, Jane Emma
Austen, Jane Sense and Sensibility
Austen, Jane Lady Susan
Brontë, Anne The Tenant of Wildfell Hall
Brontë, Charlotte Villette
Brontë, Emily Wuthering Heights
Cather, Willa O Pioneers!
Cather, Willa My Antonia
Chopin, Kate Awakening, The
Collins, Wilkie The Woman in White
Cooper, James Fennimore The Last of the Mohicans
de Maupassant, Guy Une Vie
Dickens, Charles Bleak House
Dostoyevsky, Fyodor Brothers Karamazov, The
Du Maurier, Daphne Rebecca
Dumas, Alexandre Les Trois Mousquetaires
Dumas, Alexandre The Comte de Monte Cristo
Eliot, George Adam Bede
Eliot, George The Mill on the Floss
Emerson, Ralph Waldo Essential Writings Of Ralph Waldo Emerson, The
Forster, E.M. Room With a View, A
Forster, E.M. Howards End
Gaskell, Elizabeth Cranford
Gaskell, Elizabeth Wives and Daughters
Gaskell, Elizabeth The Life of Charlotte Brontë
Hamilton, Edith Mythology: Timeless Tales Of Gods and Heroes
Hemingway, Ernest For Whom the Bell Tolls
Hemingway, Ernest The Sun Also Rises
Hemingway, Ernest The Complete Short Stories
Hugo, Victor Les Misérables
Hurston, Zora Neale Their Eyes Were Watching God
Jewett, Sarah Orne The Country of the Pointed Firs
Lee, Harper To Kill a Mockingbird
Marquez, Gabriel Garcia Love in the Time Of Cholera
Marquez, Gabriel Garcia One Hundred Years Of Solitude
McCullers, Carson The Heart is a Lonely Hunter
Montgomery, L.M. Rilla of Ingleside
Radcliffe, Ann The Mysteries of Udolpho
Rhys, Jean Wide Sargasso Sea
Shelley, Mary Frankenstein
Silko, Leslie Marmon Ceremony
Smith, Betty A Tree Grows in Brooklyn
Sophocles Antigone
Thackery, William Vanity Fair
Thoreau, Henry David Walden and Other Writings
Unknown Sir Gawain and the Green Knight
Unknown Death Of King Arthur, The
Wharton, Edith The Custom of the Country
Wharton, Edith Ethan Frome
Woolf, Virgina A Room of One’s Own

10 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: The Classics Club

    1. Beth Post author

      You amaze me, Kimba! I’m such a slow reader, though, that I think I’ll be lucky if I finish all of these before the five years are up.

      Reply
  1. Chinoiseries

    Welcome to the Classics Club 🙂 Your reasoning sounds so familiar… I started reading a few Jane Austen books for the Austen in August event and then I thought… this book is also interesting (especially Udolpho while reading Northanger Abbey) and when I’m on the topic, why not also read… etc etc 😉

    By the way, are you going to read the French classics in their original language?

    Reply
    1. Beth Post author

      That’s it exactly…one leads to another leads to another! 🙂 Glad to hear I’ve got a friend in the Classics Club. As for the French novels, I’m always meaning to read more in French, and I actually started The Three Muskateers in the original a few years ago and still having it waiting for me. I doubt I’ll be able to manage Les Mis in French, though, as it’s just so long. I read fairly well in French but it takes more time than English.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Sunday Salon: The August Wrap-Up | Too Fond

  3. Pingback: Weekly Round-up for September 4, 2012 « The Classics Club

  4. Cat

    Hi and welcome – you’ll have lots of friends in the Classics Club as one thing is always leading to another. I’m forever tweaking my list.
    Great list – enjoy your reading!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: End of Year Book Survey | Too Fond

Leave a Reply

