R.I.P. VII: Readers Imbibing Peril

A few days ago on twitter I asked, “What’s RIP?,” and now here I am throwing my hat in the ring!  R.I.P. (Readers Imbibing Peril) is a two-month extravaganza of “all things ghostly and ghastly” according to its host, Carl of Stainless Steel Droppings (thanks for freaking me out, Carl!) Seriously, I love the idea of reading around a theme, and so during the month of September and October I’ll be reading books and watching movies/television that can be classified as:

Mystery.
Suspense.
Thriller.
Dark Fantasy.
Gothic.
Horror.
Supernatural.

You can choose different levels of participation during R.I.P. season, and I’ve decided to go for…

in which I’ll read four books of any length that I feel fit the R.I.P. definition of literature.  Just looking at my TBR list, I’ve identified some possible candidates:

The Seduction of Water by Carol Goodman

Death at La Fenice by Donna Leon

Night Strangers by Chris Bohjalian

The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins

The Mysteries of Udolpho by Ann Radcliffe

I’m also going to participate in…

because you may not know this about me, but I’m a total cult tv junkie. Some of my favorite shows include Twin Peaks, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, the X-Files, Fringe, need I go on?  In other words, I’m totally into peril on the screen. I’ve been meaning to check out the show Supernatural that I’ve heard so many good things about, and this seems like a good opportunity to dive in.

I really wish I could participate in one of the group reads, but I just can’t invest in any new books right now and neither of these are available through my digital library. In any case, I think I’ll have my hands full with reading and watching PERIL. Get ready to be scared! And thanks to Carl for hosting–this is going to be fun!

17 thoughts on “R.I.P. VII: Readers Imbibing Peril

  1. Chinoiseries

    I like the fact that it’s two-monthly, so that when you’re busy you can always join later. Which is what I’m thinking right now 😉 Also, yay for a fellow Fringe fiend 😀 I’m still stuck at two seasons ago, only because I hate season finales. I can only stand so many of them at once… silly, but there you have it.

    How lovely that you have a digital library! How does that work? Does the book disappear when synchronising after the period you’ve borrowed it for? Is it possible to get fined? Do you have a nice collection to choose from?

    Reply
  2. Beth Post author

    Yes, having two months takes the pressure off a bit, doesn’t it? And yay for Fringe–what a great show. I have such a crush on just about every character on that show (well, except for David Robert Jones, who is totally creepy). Have you met him yet? I’m excited for the new season coming up but sad it will be the last one.

    The digital library I use is actually my home library in the States, which I can do because I still have a library card there thanks to family in the area. There’s a pretty good selection of e-books and audiobooks. I download them via the overdrive site and when the time is up they disappear–all very high tech. 🙂 I did once keep a book a few days longer to finish it by disconnecting my wi-fi…but luckily didn’t get a fine for it.

    Reply
  3. Carl V.

    Terrific to have you with us, I’m glad you found out what RIP was! 🙂 It is so wonderful to read and watch this kind of stuff as autumn rolls in.

    Donna Leon is an author who has been recommended to me several times and I do need to get around to checking out her work.

    I haven’t read any of Chris Bohjalian’s fiction, but his nonfiction collection of his articles for the paper in the small town where he lives was amazing.

    Thanks so much for taking part with us, I hope you have a great time.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Sunday Salon: The August Wrap-Up | Too Fond

  5. Pingback: WWW Wednesdays – September 5th | Too Fond

  6. Pingback: WWW Wednesdays – September 19th | Too Fond

  7. Pingback: The Night Strangers by Chris Bohjalian | Too Fond

  8. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | Too Fond

  9. Pingback: The October Wrap-Up | Too Fond

  10. Pingback: End of Year Book Survey | Too Fond

Leave a Reply

