Sunday Salon: The August Wrap-Up

I find it difficult to believe, considering that August is a summer month and I’ve been childless for a large part of it, but this was an absolute bomb of a reading month for me.  A total bomb.  In the entire month, I only finished…wait for it…two books.

I think part of the problem is that one of those books was really long, and the other was read leisurely as part of a readalong, but still.  Two books???  Thank goodness I’m already well ahead of my yearly goal, or this would represent a major setback.

So, in August I read and reviewed:

The Passage by Justin Cronin, 3.5 stars

North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell, 4 stars

Technically, I finished Moning’s Shadowfever at the beginning of August, but I included that in last month’s wrap-up post so can’t use it here.  I did write my review of the series this month:

Karen Marie Moning’s Fever Series

And I was pretty busy on the blog in general, with several Weekend Cooking posts:

Weekend Cooking: Ratatouille

Weekend Cooking: Stuffed Zucchini

Weekend Cooking: Victorian Cooking

Weekend Cooking: Apple Cheesecakes

I also signed up for several new challenges this month, including joining The Classics Club and Carl’s RIP Season for September and October. In general, I’ve decided to stick to monthly challenges as I’ve found it impossible to keep up with multiple annual challenges.  My brain just can’t handle it!  I’m going to finish out the year with the ones I started, but I don’t plan on adding any new ones for next year.  Besides, I’ll have my hands full reading all my Classics Club books!

Hope you all had an nice August and are looking forward to September and a new season of reading.

3 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: The August Wrap-Up

  1. Chinoiseries

    Summer break is also for enjoying life outside of blogs and books, I hope you did some of that as well 🙂 Maybe us book-loving folk should focus less on our yearly target *kicks self* and try to enjoy whatever books we feel like reading at a certain time? Of course, I’m saying this on the one hand, but have planned a pretty busy reading month for myself on the other hand…

    As for annual challenges, my brain tends to struggle with those too. I’m hoping to finish Roo Beam Reader’s TBR challenge this time around and get some more sci-fi reading done. Other than that… yay for monthly/bi-monthly challenges 😀

    Reply
    1. Beth Post author

      You are absolutely right, and I did have some fun outside of reading in August. But, I also worked a lot of extra hours, too, since I took my vacation earlier in the summer. I guess to me the number of books I’ve finished signifies more than just a number–it’s the amount of time I’m investing in myself, doing something that’s just for me. But, of course, quality is more important than quantity! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

