Weekend Cooking: Restaurant “Les Terrasses”

Have I ever mentioned that we have a world-class restaurant right on our doorstep? Literally just across the street from our apartment is the Grand Hotel and Restaurant “Les Terrasses”. It’s the best restaurant in the area, with two stars (Michelin red guide) and four stars (Toques au Gault Millau) respectively. The chef, Christophe Aribert, has previously worked at the famous La Tour d’Argent in Paris, and his wife runs a small gourmet grocery (also on our street) which is stocked with products which Aribert chooses personally.

All this would be really cool if we ever had the chance to eat there, but of course with menus starting at 99 euros per person, it’s a bit out of our price range.  My husband and I are waiting for the perfect special occasion to go, but in the meantime the restaurant does an annual charity fundraiser, where for the reasonable price of a ticket guests can sample a range of delicacies prepared by the chef and his kitchen staff. The restaurant also offers two-hour cooking courses, followed by a meal with the chef.

While we wait to win the lottery in order to dine in style, here’s a recipe from the restaurant’s website, so you can try your hand at gourmet French cooking in your own home: Butternut Squash French Toast with Truffles and Nutmeg.  The recipe is only available in French, but if you really think you’d like to try it (rather than just marvel at some of the exotic ingredients), let me know and I’ll be happy to translate it for you. (I decided not to do that here because it’s pretty long and complicated.)

Have you ever eaten at a fancy pants restaurant?
Done any gourmet cooking?

Weekend Cooking is hosted by Beth Fish Reads and is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs…

22 thoughts on “Weekend Cooking: Restaurant “Les Terrasses”

  1. Uniflame

    I actually never have. Because I can only eat small portions, I often doubt it is useful for me to dine out at all. But when we do, we usually pick something affordable. However, I would love to experience it once.

    Reply
    1. Beth Post author

      Part of me always wonders if it’s worth spending so much on something that doesn’t last, but I guess it’s like travel–you always have the memory of the experience, which can be better than a tangible souvenir.

      Reply
  2. Beth F

    Oh how tantalizing to have the restaurant right across the street! I have indeed eaten in fancy restaurants — but only when I travel because we don’t have any world-class restaurants where I live.

    Reply
  3. Cecelia Larsen

    I try to eat at one really fancy restaurant each time I travel abroad (note: this hasn’t happened in 4 years). It always seems like a good investment, and the stories you come away with are often amazing. Haven’t done any gourmet cooking myself – I’m a novice!

    I hope you get to go to your restaurant soon!

    Reply
    1. Beth Post author

      Thanks, Cecilia. I guess you’re right that it’s an investment in a once-in-a-lifetime (or rare, anyway) experience. I’ve had a few memorable meals in less expensive places, but nothing like this place.

      Reply
  4. Trish

    I LOVE food so when birthdays or anniversaries come around I almost always choose a night out eating rather than a gift. Crazy I know. Seems like those truffles always creep up in the cuisine! The cooking class sounds like a lot of fun!

    Reply
    1. Beth Post author

      I was thinking that the cooking class might even be the better deal. It costs almost as much as a starter menu, but you get the experience of making it with the chef. I might like that even more…

      Reply
  5. Chinoiseries

    I can’t believe it, you live so close to a high-end restaurant 🙂 Hah, too bad they als such exorbitant prices for their food. Have you ever been to their fundraising event? Are the cooking classes somewhat affordable?

    There must be quite a few Michelin-starred restaurants in The Netherlands, but I don’t know… Aside of the pricing of the food, it can get difficult to eat out when vegetarian. I guess that’s why I’ve never sought out one of these restaurants :s

    Reply
    1. Beth Post author

      We actually waited in line for the fundraiser one year, but after an hour (and with two tiny, impatient children) we gave up and went home. It seems like the process is more streamlined now and they sell tickets in advance, so we may do it next time.

      Do you mean there aren’t any Michelin-starred vegetarian restaurants around? 🙂 I think to the French it might be sacrilegious, but I bet there are some good ones somewhere. I’m not a big meat eater, so it’s taken me a long time to get used to French ways of eating…

      Reply
  6. Marg

    I would like to do the really expensive Michelin starred restaurant just once, but I can’t imagine it will be any time soon!

    Maybe we should go when I come to visit? lol

    Reply
  7. Fay

    Looking forward to some big-city dining when we take our fall vacation. I think the fact that we live in a rural area has made me a better, more experimental, cook. Not gourmet yet, but ambitious.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

