Booking Through Thursday: Organization

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme about books and reading.

How do you organize/store your books? Do you go through them often? Or do you pretty much just shelve them and then leave them alone until you need them?

Can I just say that I am trying to be organized?  Really, I am. I even downloaded an app for my phone that scans the bar code of your books and automatically enters them into an excel spreadsheet.  That kind of organized.  And yet I don’t think it’s really helping!

I tend to store my books by general category, with all of a particular author’s books together in one place (of course) and a more general category organization after that–classics together, historical fiction, nonfiction, etc.–but this is a very loose system. The fact is that I have more books on my TBR pile than I should, and I tend to just start stacking them up at random after a while. I don’t usually go through them again until I’m looking for something in particular.

We have lots of wall shelves, as well as a large bookcase in our living room.  And this doesn’t include all the books my 8-year-old has…having three book lovers (and a soon-to-be-reading fourth) in the house makes for a lot of books to keep up with!

10 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Organization

  1. kimbacaffeinate

    organizing them is hard. I use to keep an excel spread sheet, simply because i read a lot of series and hate when a cover changes or is re-released by a favorite author, because i would see it and buy it..only to get home to discover I read it. I use the google app and can instantly see if I have read something or own it.

    Reply
  2. Chinoiseries

    Which app are you using, Beth? Not the GoodReads one, I gather? I’ve often found myself adding a book to my tbr list, only to find out much later that I’ve had it on the shelves for ages… talking of being unorganised 😉 I’m the only one who buys book in my house, and I can’t imagine how many books you are dealing with 😀 Must be lovely though, to share your love for books with your family 🙂

    Reply
    1. Beth Post author

      That’s sort of why I decided to do the spreadsheet, as I accidentally mooched two copies of Ishiguro’s When We Were Orphans. Anyone need a copy? 🙂 And yes, it is nice to share books as a family, although we have slightly different tastes. D. loves fantasy and L. is all about the mysteries and animal books. She once left a book on my desk with a note that said “You should read this, Mama. It’s great!” It was a very proud mama moment for me. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

