Top Ten Tuesday: Series I Haven’t Finished

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s top ten list is of the ‘Top Ten Series I Haven’t Finished’. This is a perfect topic for me because I am a big series reader, and I generally will keep reading a series once I’ve started it, even when I think the quality of the individual books has decreased over time. I guess once I’m invested in the characters, I just have to know how it all turns out for them. But, for one reason or another, here are the series I haven’t finished…

1. The Outlander Series by Diana Gabaldon. I really enjoyed the first few books in this series. Unfortunately, over time I started to have less and less patience with Gabaldon’s wordiness, and as I’ve gotten older I’m much less willing to make the time investment in reading a chunkster. I did buy the latest in the series, An Echo in the Bone, but I haven’t read it yet.

2. The Song of Fire and Ice series by George R. R. Martin. I read the first book in this series on the recommendation of my husband, and I did like it. However, I haven’t had the courage to pick up the second one yet. Those bad boys are looooong.

3. The Mistress of the Art of Death series by Ariana Franklin. I’ve read all of this series except the last book, which I checked out of the library this summer but didn’t have time to finish. I do want to read it, but that fact that I know the series ended rather abruptly because of Franklin’s (aka Diana Norman) untimely death makes me less likely to rush to read it. I like my series to be wrapped up properly.

4. The Pink Carnation series by Lauren Willig. I was into this series a few years ago, but after a while I got a bit bored by it. I read another one over the summer and enjoyed it more, so I may pick up the rest at some point, but I’m not in a hurry.

5. The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. I read and reviewed the first book in this series not too long ago, and it was at this point that I made a vow to myself not to finish a series just for the sake of finding out what happens to the characters. I didn’t really like the first book, so I won’t be picking up the rest.

6. The Lady Julia series by Deanna Raybourne. I loved, loved the first few books in this series. Not only that, I think I fell in love with Brisbane right along with Lady Julia–he’s a great character, and I got caught up in their romantic outcome more than the mysteries themselves. Once that was resolved, I didn’t have as much of an interest in the books, and I haven’t read the latest one.

7. The Amelia Peabody series by Elizabeth Peters. This is probably the longest series I have ever read. Honestly, there are like 20 of these books now, and I’ve read them spread out over such a long period of time that I can no longer remember which books I’ve read and which ones I haven’t. I give up.

8. The Inspector Lynley series by Elizabeth George. Although this list may convince you otherwise, I don’t generally read a lot of mysteries. Elizabeth George is an exception to that, and I’ve enjoyed her books for years. Unfortunately, the last one I read just bored me to tears, and I’m reluctant to pick up another one.

9. The Maisie Dobbs series by Jacqueline Winspear. I really like this series of detective stories/mysteries set in post-WWI England. The only problem is that I can’t find them at my library, and I’m not addicted enough to buy them. But I would really like to continue reading the rest of the books in the series at some point.

10. And finally….drumroll, please…every series by Alexander McCall Smith ever! Well, almost every series, as I’m currently behind on the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series, the Sunday Philosophy Club series, and the 44 Scotland Street series. I do enjoy his books, but I don’t rush out to buy the latest one right away, either. Rather I’m working my way through them slowly, as they are the kind of books that are best appreciated that way. Especially the Scotland Street books–I think they’re wonderful, but I prefer to savor the cleverness and humor in small doses.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Series I Haven’t Finished

  1. Sara @ Just Another Story

    I wish I hadn’t gone past the first novel in The Mortal Instrument series. I read the first book when it first came out, and after the end I vowed not to go on. Then I got a finished copy of City of Fallen Angels and I felt that I needed to read it. For me the series ended at City of Glass.

    Great list.

    My Top Ten Tuesday

    Reply
  2. Chinoiseries

    Having seen the TTT topic for this week, I was secretly hoping you would post! Are you sure you won’t dedicate a post to series that you have finished?

    Song of Ice and Fire is huge and difficult to get through. It may be easier to just watch the HBO series. I am not kidding. Tried re-reading book 1 earlier this year and failed miserably. I bought the audio version of the latest instalment and it took ages before stuff started to get interesting (or happen at all!)

    I’ve got the first four Amelia Peabody books on my e-reader and really looking forward to start with the series one of these days 🙂

    Alexander McCall Smith: yes! Won’t anyone host a giveaway for ALL his books? 😀 I’m daunted by the prospect of reading them all. I’ve only read a collection of short stories in Africa that was written by him.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

