Sunday Salon: The September Wrap-Up

September, where did you go? Why did I spend so much of you reading a book that I didn’t even like? These are questions I am unlikely to get an answer to, since generally months don’t talk back. Oh, well.

In September, I read and reviewed:

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare – 2.5 stars

The Emperor’s Edge by Lindsay Buroker – 4.5 stars

Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan – 3.5 stars

The Miracle at Speedy Motors by Alexander McCall Smith – 3 stars

The Night Strangers by Chris Bohjalian – 1 star (review coming on Tuesday)

The Night Strangers counts for my R.I.P. challenge, so only three books left to read for that by the end of October. The Miracle at Speedy Motors counts for my Mount TBR. challenge, as I’ve had it (partially finished) on my shelf for ages and finally took it down and finished it. And The Emperor’s Edge counts for my Why Buy the Cow? challenge, as I got it for free. Progress, yay!

I also wrote my first guest post in September, which was a lot of fun. The Best & Worst of Kate Atkinson was posted over at At Home With Books. Thanks to Alyce for giving me the opportunity to write for her series.

I’m looking forward to October, to more R.I.P. reading (and viewing!) and to Roof Beam Reader’s The Literary Others: A LGBT Reading Event (more on that tomorrow).

Hope you all had a September full of excellent reading and that October holds more of the same.

5 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: The September Wrap-Up

    1. Beth Post author

      Kimba, I know that lots of people liked it, and I added at the end of my review that it might be worth reading other people’s reviews, too. I can point them to you if you like. 🙂

      Reply
  1. Chinoiseries

    It seems that September had ups and downs for you in store, reading-wise 😦 Hopefully, October will only offer you enjoyable books!

    I’m going to start on David Levithan’s book sometime this week. It’s going to very rainy anyways, so I’m all for staying in and making a dent in that reading pile 🙂

    I hope that autumn is arriving in a gentler way, where you are!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

