The Literary Others: A LGBT Reading Event

As you may have noticed, I’ve added a new button over on the right for my October challenge, which is taking part in Roof Beam Reader’s The Literary Others: A LGBT Reading Event. In honor of LGBT History Month, Roof Beam Reader (Adam) is hosting this event in which we’ll be reading LGBT literature throughout the month of October, which includes works “which are written by a gay, lesbian, bisexual, or transgender author, or…works whose major themes/characters are LGBT-centric”.

Adam lists some book ideas on his blog, and I found that looking up books with the LGBT tag on Goodreads produced a good number as well. I’ve read plenty of books that would qualify for this event, but I’ve never really thought about the fact that they were part of a specific literary tradition, and I’m looking forward to exploring this genre more in the month to come.

Here’s what I’m planning to read:

The Stranger’s Child by Alan Hollinghurst

The Complete Poems by Sappho (I read this in college and loved it, so this will be a re-read)

Everyday by David Levithan

I may add other books to the list as I go, but I think three is a reasonable place to start. I’ll be updating this page as I read and review, and I look forward to reading others’ reviews and posts about this topic during October.

4 thoughts on “The Literary Others: A LGBT Reading Event

  1. Lucy

    I really liked Every Day and hope you do too. The LGBT tag on Goodreads was really helpful for finding books for this reading event. Looking forward to reading your reviews!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | Too Fond

  3. Pingback: The October Wrap-Up | Too Fond

Leave a Reply

