Weekend Cooking: Challenge Accepted!

Uniflame over at She Likes Bento is hosted a cookbook challenge for the months of October and November, and I decided it would be a good chance to give my seldom used cookbooks a whirl. In particular, I bought a beautiful, big cookbook a few years ago, but have only made a few recipes from it so far. I’m going to try and use this one to complete the challenge at the Creative Croissant level (how could I not? :)), which means I need to make 3-5 recipes from it before the end of November.

To give you an idea of what I’ll be working from:

I should be able to find 3-5 recipes out of 900 that I can make, no?

And in the spirit of Weekend Cooking sharing, here’s a recipe from it that I’d like to try sometime soon.

Bean Salad with Basil Cream Sauce

Ingredients:

400 g Lima beans

400 g navy beans

250 g cherry tomatoes

12 small balls of fresh mozzarella (cut in half)

60 g arugala (rocket)

80 g grilled pine nuts

For the sauce:

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 tablespoons white wine vinegar

2 tablespoons white balsamic vinegar

2 tablespoons fresh basil leaves, roughly chopped

60 mL crème fraîche

Directions:

Prepare the basil cream sauce. Mix the oil, the two vinegars, and the basil in a bowl. Add the crème fraîche and whip until evenly mixed. In a big salad bowl, combine all the ingredients of the salad with the sauce. Eat and enjoy!

On the same page as this recipe is one for homemade cornbread, and I can’t help but think it would be good with the salad–you’d have enough for a meal right there. This would be an easy lunch for me to prepare to take to work.

What are you cooking this weekend?

Weekend Cooking is hosted by Beth Fish Reads and is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs…

10 thoughts on “Weekend Cooking: Challenge Accepted!

  1. Christine

    Hi Beth! So glad you’re doing the cookbook challenge, too. I can’t wait to see what recipes you try–that cookbook sounds wonderful… are there lots of gorgeous photos inside as well?

    I am a fan of bean salads.. the basil sauce sounds just divine. The basil in my garden is looking pretty sad here since fall is upon us, otherwise I think I’d be making this tonight!

    ps. Your link over at the weekend cooking link up isn’t working for me? Just thought you might want to know.

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      Hi Christine!

      Thanks for letting me know for the link. I think my brain is only half-awake today. Yes, the cookbook has lots of lovely photos in it, part of what made me buy it. Sorry your basil is out of commission; I think I’m having summer salad envy, as this just looked so good to me. Plus someone told me recently that lima beans are amazingly good for you–so I need to eat more of them! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Chinoiseries

    This recipe sounds really good, Beth. I’m always looking for more recipes with beans in it 🙂 S. dislikes them, so I’ll have to put extra effort into making a meal with beans delicious 😉

    La cuisine facile sounds promising, does it claim to have recipes with short ingredient lists and a short cooking time?

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      I actually thought of you when I picked this one–I’m trying to be more conscious of my vegetarian readers! 🙂 The cookbook is a good one, with lots of asian-inspired dishes. Supposedly they are easy recipes, although I haven’t tried enough of them to judge if they really are or not. I noticed that quite a few of the recipes use ingredients that I wouldn’t have on hand just everyday, so that’s an issue to consider.

      Reply
  3. Pingback: The October Wrap-Up | Too Fond

Leave a Reply

