Dewey’s Readathon Weekend

It’s coming…Dewey’s Readathon!

I participated in the readathon for the first time last spring, and I had such a good time that I’m ready to do it again, this time with the added feature of being a cheerleader (rah rah rah)! I seriously need to start working on my cheers.

Because I live in Europe, my official start time for the readathon is Saturday at 2 p.m. But, as I don’t actually intend to stay up all night (I’m too old for that, ya’ll), I’ll probably split my reading time evenly between Saturday and Sunday. Is that allowed? I’m pretending that it is.

During the last readathon I made the mistake of trying to read a long book, which was pretty dull, but having learned from that experience I’m going to try to mix things up more this time. Here’s what I’ve got lined up:

The Stranger’s Child by Alan Hollinghurst (to finish)

Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green & David Levithan (on audio, to finish)

When It Happens to You by Molly Ringwald (short stories, so I may just dip into this one)

The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas (need to read this before my book club meeting next week!)

What about you? Are you planning to join in the readathon fun?

5 thoughts on “Dewey’s Readathon Weekend

  1. Marg

    I haven’t actually even decided if I am going to do readathon or not this time around. I don’t have any big plans for the weekend so maybe. It doesn’t officially start until 11pm on Saturday for me so I wouldn’t have any recovery time until I have to be ready for work on Monday so I end up starting and then going straight to sleep.

    Reply
  2. Chinoiseries

    Are participants allowed to divide the reading over two days and not read from 2pm to 2pm? Because I really don’t feel like staying up at night reading either 😉 That’s the main reason why I’m not participating…

    Oh, I still have to read The Slap! The reviews I’ve seen so far are pretty much divided. Don’t think I’ve seen raving ones either. And you’ve got another David Levithan book on the go 🙂

    Reply
  3. softdrink

    Cheerleading is fun! You can do it!! (Once a cheerleader, always a cheerleader. Umm…readathon…not real life.) Also, you will forever after overuse exclamation marks. It’s the Curse of the Cheerleader.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Weekend Cooking: Mini Fondants | Too Fond

Leave a Reply

