Dewey’s Readathon Master Post

END OF READATHON WRAP-UP:

1. Which hour was most daunting for you?

I was a wimp and slept for most of the night here, so I never got too tired.

2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?

I would definitely recommend anything by David Levithan, John Green, Rachel Cohn or any combination of the three! These are fun, fast reads that have a lot of heart.

3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?

I thought all of the hosts did a fabulous job! No complaints. I have personal improvements I want to make, but that’s another story…

4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?

I really liked the videos and images with the hourly updates, as they kept me interested and motivated. And Twitter was on fire!

5. How many books did you read?

I didn’t finish any complete books, but I did read bits and pieces of lots of different books.

6. What were the names of the books you read?

I read in The Stranger’s Child by Alan Hollinghurst, The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins, Turn Right at Machu Picchu by Mark Adams, and a little bit of Simply Irresistable by Jill Shavis.

7. Which book did you enjoy most?

I have to say The Stranger’s Child, since I spent most of my time reading it.

8. Which did you enjoy least?

I’d heard a lot of good things about the Jill Shavis series, but I’m not enjoying it so far. Not engaging me at all.

9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders?

I was a first-time cheerleader this year, and while I LOVED it, I didn’t get much reading done. So, if you plan to do both…well, have a plan. Organize you time and stick to it, because it’s really easy to get caught up in cheering and spend all your time doing it. 🙂

10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?

I definitely want to do this again, but with one set role–whether reading, or cheering, or whatever. I don’t multi-task well!

Congratulations to all of you who stuck with it to the end! You guys are the reading bomb!

BOOK TO MOVIE MINI-CHALLENGE:

This update is for the Book to Movie Mini-Challenge being hosted over at Reading Through Life.

I’m currently reading The Stranger’s Child by Alan Hollinghurst, and I could totally see it being made into an Atonement-style period drama. The main characters are Daphne, her brother George, and their common love interest–Cecil. Here’s who I picture them as:

Daphne – Kirsten Dunst, if she could fake a good English accent.

George –  Maybe Eric Millegan from Bones? Again, he’d have to work on the accent.

Cecil – This one is hard, because I have Jude Law in my head while I’m reading the book, but he’s probably too old for the part. Can we rewind time and cast a slightly younger, say The Talented Mr. Ripley-era Jude Law?

As for the director, it would have to be someone who has experience with this type of film, maybe Joe Wright (who directed both Atonement and the most recent P&P)? I think he could pull it off.

That was fun! 🙂

UPDATE:

I didn’t stay awake all night, but it’s Sunday morning here and I’m ready to read! Just to catch up, so far I’ve:

– read some cookbooks

– read about 60 pages of The Stranger’s Child by Alan Hollinghurst

– read a little bit here and there in three other books (not enough to count, though)

Lame, I know, but I’ve been cheering my heart out, so that has to count for something, right? 🙂 Less than five hours to go!

OLD POST:

Whew! We’re already more than an hour into the readathon, and I haven’t actually started reading yet! I think between cheering, blogging, and twitter, I’m going to have to really focus on making time for reading, too! Anyway, here’s my belated master post–I’ll be updating this same post throughout the next 24 hours, so all the action will be taking place here.

Hour One – Introductory Questionnaire

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?

I’m reading from a small village in the French Alps, where it is a beautiful fall day.

2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?

I’m most looking forward to finishing my Will Grayson, Will Grayson audiobook, since it’s the one I’m enjoying the most at the moment.

3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?

I’m already eating popcorn, my favorite snacking pleasure.

4) Tell us a little something about yourself!

I’m a second-time readathon reader, first-time cheerleader. Go team #cheertamales!

5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?

I’m going to try to stay focused on my reading, as it’s easy to get caught up in the internet side of things. But as you can see, that’s already becoming a problem…

HAPPY READATHON!!

19 thoughts on “Dewey’s Readathon Master Post

  1. Rayna

    Oh I love Popcorn Bistro they have so many different flavors. When it comes to the read-a-thon you just got to kepp on keepin’ on…Go Go Go!!! #cheertamales

    Reply
  2. bethbookaholicmom

    Popcorn! Now I want some! I think I’ll have some later this evening. I hope you are getting some reading done. Good luck and happy reading!

    Reply
  3. pageoflovealexa

    I hope you are able to focus in on reading some great books today! Or listening to them as the case may be.

    Happy read-a-thon!

    Reply
  4. Trish

    Little village in the Alps. SO JEALOUS!! I hope things are going well for you…I’m guessing it’s in the wee hours right now so not sure you’re still up. Looking forward to your thoughts on WG,WG.

    Reply
  5. Laurie C

    I listened to the audio of Will Grayson, etc. too, and thought it was good. The Stranger’s Child needs to go on my TBR list if it isn’t there already.

    Reply
  6. Nolatari

    You are so correct about the challenges of blogging and cheering during readathon. I’ve never cheered because I know I wouldn’t read as much, but I’ve found that simply blogging 4-5 times in 24 hours + occasional Twitter check-ins was enough to keep the reading level low. This time I was totally devoted to reading but still found myself spending a total of 10 hours online! I’ve been encouraged to become a cheerleader next time, but you’ve reminded me that I must have a serious plan. Thank you for that! And thank you for devoting your time to cheering and interacting. Much as we love the reading, it’s the community that makes readathon so special.

    Reply
  7. Rachel

    Good job! I did a little unofficial cheering while listening to an audiobook. Though I admit it was sort of cheaty-cheering since I just kind of glanced at their updates looking for key words and then cheered them on. 🙂

    Reply
  8. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favorite Authors in Historical Fiction | Too Fond

  9. Pingback: The October Wrap-Up | Too Fond

Leave a Reply

