The October Wrap-Up

October has been a strange month for me, reading-wise. While I did read quite a bit and participated in several online events, I didn’t actually finish a lot of books. I think it was a combination of too much jumping around between books plus various library constraints.

In October, I only read and finished two books:

Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green & David Levithan, 4 stars

The Aviator’s Wife by Melanie Benjamin, 3.5/4 stars (I can’t make up my mind. 3.75?)

I almost finished another one, The Stranger’s Child by Alan Hollinghurst, but my library checkout period ran out while I still had 10% of the book to read. Frustrating, especially as I was really hoping to review it for Adam’s The Literary Others: An LGBT Reading Event. Oh, well–it’s one of the limitations of borrowing e-books, and now I have to wait until it’s my turn on the waiting list to be able to finish it.

So, for the two events that I participated in during the month of October (R.I.P. VII and The Literary Others), I only officially finished one book for each. But, I did quite a bit of “reading around” for The Literary Others, as I started reading two other books as well–Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan and When It Happens to You by Molly Ringwald. I should finish both of those within the next few days and will post reviews. Even if the event it officially over, it has inspired me to read more LGBT works, and I want to thank Adam for hosting such an interesting and meaningful event.

I also did quite a bit of cooking this month, as I participated in Uniflame’s Cookbook Challenge and unofficially in Trish’s Pin It and Do It Challenge. I made two new recipes from my previously little-used cookbook, and I made two recipes that I had pinned, one of which was so good (and simple) I’ve now made it twice! Seriously, it’s delicious–and I’m going to post it for Weekend Cooking this weekend, so be on the lookout for that.

During the month of October I participated in two blogging events, one being the fabulous Dewey’s Readathon for which I cheered my little heart out, and the other being Leeswammes’ Literary Giveaway Blog Hop for which I held my own very first giveaway on the blog. I’ve chosen a winner and have contacted them, so as soon as I hear something back I will announce it here.

Whew–it was a busy month for all that I didn’t finish many books! On to November, during which I have a couple of chunksters waiting for me and three(!) readalongs in which I’m going to participate. (Oh, and a little thing called Nanowrimo). Should be fun!

And did I mention that we already got snow this month? Can’t wait to see what November will bring…

7 thoughts on “The October Wrap-Up

    1. Too Fond Post author

      I actually really liked it, but I hesitated on the rating because I thought it was a bit lacking in depth. But I would definitely recommend it!

      Reply
  1. Geoff W

    What do you read ebooks on? If you turn off your wireless you can hold on to the book until you’re done with it and it’ll still be ‘returned’.

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      I read on a kindle fire, so I’ve done the wireless trick once before. I’m just never sure if it means the next person on the list can’t actually check it out until I’m done…I hate to hold them up.

      Reply
      1. Geoff W

        That’s the beauty of it. Everything I’ve read says it doesn’t hold up the next person! I’ve only done it twice and I didn’t receive a call or anything from the library – so I’m assuming it didn’t.

  2. Chinoiseries

    Yes! Snow! Better than the never-ending rain 😦 You sure had a busy month bloggingwise, in a good way 🙂 I finished reading more books, but don’t think I’ve completed one single challenge… it was a strange month with so much going on online and offline. Yay for you being inspired to explore the LGBTQ literature scene and completing so many other events!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

