Weekend Cooking: Italian Chicken

Image from Pinterest

Yum and yum. So I pinned this recipe a while back, but the website that I got it from is difficult to navigate because there are lots of non-cooking related content and lots of photos. Finally I figured out that the original recipe can be found here. So, all credit goes to Jill who created this simple and delicious recipe. I’ve tweaked her recipe just a bit.

The first time I made this, my husband was so impressed that he told me it was like eating restaurant food. I think that’s a good thing. I’ve now made it twice and the second time I forgot the garlic and it wasn’t as good. So don’t forget the garlic!

Italian Chicken

Ingredients:

1 cup of cherry tomatoes, halved

2/3 can of artichoke hearts, drained and quartered

2 cloves of garlic, sliced

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 teaspoon of sugar

2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1/2 cup grated mozzarella cheese

salt and pepper

fresh basil leaves (optional)

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 180°C/350°F. Mix the first six ingredients together in a bowl. Place the chicken breasts in a baking pan and lightly drizzle with olive oil. Add the tomato and artichoke mixture, and season the whole dish with salt and pepper. Bake for 25 minutes or until chicken breasts are almost cooked through.

Take the dish out of the oven and sprinkle with the grated cheese. Place the chicken back in the oven under the broiler, and broil for about 5 minutes or until the top is brown and bubbly. Sprinkle with torn fresh basil leaves.

I served this dish with angel hair pasta, and it was SO. GOOD.

Enjoy!

Weekend Cooking is hosted by Beth Fish Reads and is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs…

22 thoughts on “Weekend Cooking: Italian Chicken

  1. Chinoiseries

    I love artichokes and tomatoes, and I can totally imagine how this would go great together! It’s always good to have a few go-to dishes that have the wow-factor 🙂

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      I’m sure you could do a vegetarian version of this dish, with pasta, maybe? I love the combination of tomatoes and artichokes (and spinach, too–we could throw some of that in there) 🙂

      Reply
  2. Marg

    A can of artichoke hearts you say? Not sure I have ever noticed those on the supermarket shelves here. It does look tasty though, and you could put the mixture on top of schnitzels as well. !

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Currently… | Too Fond

  4. Marra Kelly

    Made this tonight, it was great and very simple. I added some fresh spinach and a little asiago cheese. I had to cook mine much longer than the 25 minutes listed in the recipe. Delish!

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      That’s strange–usually the timing is right on for me. Were you using the right temperature conversion? Maybe you just had some really big chicken breasts! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

