Weekend Cooking: Pin It and Do It

So I’ve been (sometimes unofficially) participating in Trish’s Pin It and Do It Challenge during the last few rounds, and the cooking-related pins are definitely the ones I end up following through on most easily. This week I made three recipes that I had pinned and which were all delicious. They don’t necessarily go together, but if you’re super hungry you could definitely make a meal from them.

1. Chickpea Salsa

I found this recipe via the goop newsletter, and it is delicious. It combines some of my favorite flavors, including red onion and cilantro. No one may be lining up to make out with you after you eat this, but that’s okay because it just means you can eat more.

2. Chicken Curry Burgers in Pita with Tzatziki

I used chicken as the recipe states, but this would also be really good with falafel if you’re a vegetarian. My five-year-old kept stealing bites of mine. The combination of the cucumber, red onion (again, so maybe only eat these two recipes together if you’re on your own for the night) and the tzatziki are yuuuuuumy. More, please!

3. Cinnamon and Date Smoothie

I’m a long-time follower of the A Farmer in the Dell blog, as she always has interesting recipe ideas. This smoothie is so good that I actually have had one instead of coffee for two mornings in a row, and I haven’t missed my coffee. I threw in some wheat germ and flaxseeds to give it a health boost, but honestly this is like drinking dessert.

So there you have it–I’m already almost to the Pinterested level and I haven’t even started on my holiday-related pins! I hope you enjoy these recipes as much as I did.

Happy weekend!

Weekend Cooking is hosted by Beth Fish Reads and is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs…

24 thoughts on “Weekend Cooking: Pin It and Do It

  1. Uniflame

    That cinnamon and date smoothie sounds great! I have to check that out. I too am participating in PinItDoIt 🙂 But I always end up with more pins at the end of the challenge 😉

    Reply
  2. Christine

    Oh wow. I would totally eat and LOVE all three of those dishes. They are exactly the kinds of foods I love to eat. I’m picking up Medjool dates on my next visit to the grocery store. Love the idea of throwing ground flaxseed in there, too!

    All of a sudden, I’m starving! 😉

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      Let me know what you think! The same blogger just posted another delicious-sounding smoothie recipe, so I’m going to try that one tomorrow morning.

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Holiday Pin it and Do it Round-Up | My great WordPress blog

Leave a Reply

