2013 TBR Pile Challenge

I (supposedly) participated in a TBR challenge this past year, with dismal results, so when I saw that Adam was hosting one for the coming year I thought it might be a chance to redeem myself. The thing I like about his challenge is that you plan out exactly which books you’ll read ahead of time, which I think may help me to be more successful.

2013 TBR Pile Challenge List

1. L’Elegance du Herisson by Muriel Barbery

2. Villette by Charlotte Brontë

3. March by Geraldine Brooks

4. The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai

5. A Room with a View by E.M. Forster

6. Thirteen Moons by Charles Frazier

7. Metropolis by Elizabeth Gaffney

8. When We Were Orphans by Kazuo Ishiguro

9. Suite Française by Irene Namirovsky

10. Le Temp des Secrets by Marcel Pagnol

11. Housekeeping by Marilynne Robinson

12. City of God by Beverly Swerling

Alternates:

1. The Almond Picker by Simonetta Hornby

2. Accordion Crimes by Annie Proulx

Some of these books should qualify for other challenges as well, so I’m hoping this will also help to keep me honest. Really, I’m sure these are lovely books and I need to get around to reading them!

9 thoughts on “2013 TBR Pile Challenge

  1. Roof Beam Reader

    Villette and Suite Francaise have been on my to read list for a while, too! I don’t own Villette, though, so couldn’t include it (almost added Shirley, though!). Maybe I’ll end up reading it anyway. I don’t know much about the rest of these – A Room with a View is another I should really read. Looking forward to your thoughts – and good luck!

    Reply
  2. guiltlessreader (@guiltlessreader)

    There are few in there I have never heard of and now I’m intrigued! I really enjoyed The Inheritance of Loss (but I noticed that it has rather polarized reactions – love it/hate it, no middle ground). I also have Suite Française on my TBR. Is City of God the book upon which the movie is based? It looks like you’ve got a great reading year ahead … enjoy!

    Also, thanks so much for visiting my blog — it’s wonderful to meet a fellow bibliophile! I have a historical fiction E-book giveaway going on right now and it is based on Oscar Wilde: http://guiltlessreading.blogspot.ca/2012/11/guest-post-giveaway-paulette-mahurin.html

    Reply
  3. Laurie C

    Good luck! I think your list is more challenging than mine. I only completed 2 of 12 in 2012, so I’m using most of my list again! I’ve been meaning to read many on your list, also, especially The Inheritance of Loss and When We Were Orphans.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: The April Wrap-Up | Too Fond

  5. Pingback: The June Wrap-Up | Too Fond

  6. Pingback: Too Fond on Vacation! | Too Fond

Leave a Reply

