The November Wrap-Up

6540005457_db916c459e_mHello December! We finally had our (belated) Thanksgiving feast yesterday, then attended my husband’s work Christmas party today. And it’s snowing again–the end-of-year countdown has officially begun. I’ve even managed to get some shopping down, with all the presents for my family in the U.S. already bought and shipped on their way.

Since I’m still participating in the Bleak House Read-a-Long, it seemed like a good idea to join in the Dickens in December event hosted by Caroline and Delia. I’ve ordered a copy of both A Christmas Carol and Oliver Twist (abridged editions) for my eight-year-old, so I’m hoping we can spend the 21st reading the former together. And speaking of Bleak House, two months seems to be the perfect length of time needed to read this book, as I’m almost halfway through.

In November I read and reviewed three books:

When it Happens to You by Molly Ringwald

Turn Right at Machu Picchu by Mark Adams

Every Day by David Levithan

I enjoyed all of them, so if you’re interested please feel free to check out my reviews.

I’m also determined to finish The House at Riverton by Kate Morton this weekend, as I should already be done. I got behind and was never able to catch up, but I will still do a wrap-up post and review of this book, too.

To share some holiday cheer with my fellow bloggers, I signed up for Leeswammes’ Book Bloggers Holiday Card Exchange. Unfortunately, sign-ups are now closed, but I look forward to sending and maybe receiving cards from some of you. I’m also participating in Trish’s Pin It and Do It challenge.

I’ve got a lot of great books lined up to read in December and into the new year, so hopefully I’ll get a chance to enjoy them despite the hectic nature of the holiday season. I’ll be off work for a week and a half, and I’ve decided to adopt a zen attitude going into it, to take my time to enjoy being with family and let the transition to 2013 be a peaceful one. And if nothing else, at least I’m not having to decorate my Christmas tree underwater!

5229710106_5e5d4395cb_n

Have a great month!

4 thoughts on “The November Wrap-Up

  1. Trish

    Wow! You had a great November! I’m kind of glad to finally be in December but was really grateful that Thanksgiving came so early this year. Seems this year has just flown.

    How fun about Oliver Twist for your 8 year old. I’ve been wanting to read that one for quite some time now–maybe next year.

    Happy December!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Dickens in December – Wrap up « Beauty is a Sleeping Cat

Leave a Reply

