The December Wrap-Up

4248849075_d08510376aIt’s here–the final monthly wrap-up post of the year. It’s been one year since I started this blog, a fact which escaped me until I was going back through some old posts. One year of book blogging, and I’ve enjoyed it more than I ever thought possible.

I also have to consider this little experiment a success. My goal in starting this blog was to increase and enrich my own reading experience and to provide me with an outlet to write some every day. I still write creatively, too, but the fact of having this blog helps to keep me accountable in a way that I never managed to be with a journal or diary. I think a daily writing habit is so important, and having readers to whom I feel accountable has really helped me to stay disciplined. So thank you for reading, and commenting, and sharing on your own blogs–I can’t express how much it means to me to be part of a community of readers and writers.

Once the holidays are over and things have calmed down a bit in real life, I’m planning to host a giveaway to celebrate my “blogversary” and to show a little appreciation to you all, in my small way. So be on the lookout for that in January.

In December I read and reviewed 6 books:

The Stranger’s Child by Alan Hollinghurst

The House at Riverton by Kate Morton

Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

The Tragedy Paper by Elizabeth LeBan (review coming soon!)

As you can see, a record month to finish out the year! I definitely feel like I’ve hit my reading stride.

I participated in Leeswammes’ Book Bloggers Holiday Card Exchange, and it was so nice to get cards from other bloggers, all of whom were unknown to me previously. I also kicked total rear in Trish’s Pin It and Do It challenge, with a whopping total of 9 pins completed, making me officially “pin obsessed”. For Dickens in December, I advanced in my readalong of Bleak House and read A Christmas Carol for the first time, which was a real holiday treat. Thanks to the hosts of all of these events for making it such a fun (and productive) month.

I’ll be posting my overall 2012 wrap-up tomorrow, and then on to the new year, for which I’m busy making plans and resolutions. I wish all of you the best for 2013!

6 thoughts on “The December Wrap-Up

  1. therelentlessreader

    Congrats on your 1 year blogoversary! Isn’t book blogging the most fun? This community is simply the best 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

