New Year’s Resolution Reading Challenge

NewYearBooks

So I told myself that I wasn’t going to commit to any more challenges this year, but I really like the idea of Joy’s New Year’s Resolution Reading Challenge, mainly because my own resolutions feel very vague this year and I’d like a little accountability and support to put them into action. Also, I just happened to have three books already on my shelf that fit nicely with the things I’d like to work on this year.

So, I’ll be participating at the ‘Committed’ level, reading the following three books:

1. Last Child in the Woods by Richard Louv. I’ve had this book on my shelves for ages, but I never seem to find the time to read it. It deals with the issue of the disconnect between children (in particular) and nature in our fast-paced modern world. As one of my resolutions this year is to spend more time outside, I’m really interested to read this book. I think an understanding and a sense of connection to the natural world are so important, not just for children but for adults, too.

2. How to Talk So Kids Will Listen and Listen So Kids Will Talk by Adele Faber & Elaine Mazlish. Another one I’ve had on my shelf for a long time, and that I actually started to read a few years back but never finished. As my children are now firmly in the “school ages”, I feel like I need to upgrade some of my parenting techniques, and I’ve heard wonderful things about this book.

3. It’s All Too Much by Peter Walsh. A friend of mine moved several years ago and left this book with me. It’s subtitled ‘An Easy Plan for Living a Richer Life With Less Stuff‘ and gives advice on organizing and downsizing. I’m definitely not a hoarder, but we live in a tiny apartment and it gets quickly overwhelmed with stuff. As we’re also hoping to move this year, I’d like to get some practical tips on managing clutter.

There you go–another challenge for 2013, and hopefully one that will help me realize some bigger life goals.

What are your resolutions for the New Year? Do you plan to read any books to help you stick to them?

10 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolution Reading Challenge

  1. Geoff W

    Last Child in the Woods is supposed to be an amazing book. I worked for Outward Bound and many of the full time professionals (who came up through the seasonal jobs) really believed in it and recommended it to everyone.

    Reply
    1. Too Fond Post author

      Thanks! I actually thought when I first signed up for the challenge that it ran for the whole year, so I doubt I’ll finish all three books before the end of the month. But, if nothing else it got me thinking about my resolutions. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Pingback: WWW Wednesdays – January 9th | Too Fond

Leave a Reply

