Booking Through Thursday: Winter

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme about books and reading.

It’s the depth of winter here where I live right now … what books do you like to read when it’s snowy and white? What books do you read to evoke a real feeling of winter (good or bad)?

It’s definitely snowy and white here, and we spent the day sledding with my two daughters yesterday. I’m not a big snow person, but it wasn’t too cold out and I’ve learned how to dress appropriately–not obvious for a Southern girl who usually went coatless in the wintertime growing up. I’m learning to appreciate the white stuff.

I’m not sure that I consciously read a certain kind of book in the winter, but I know what kind of books evoke winter for me. I have a bit of an Arctic obsession, maybe because it’s such a foreign setting to me. I love reading books about explorers or people who live in the far north. Some of my favorites are The Voyage of the Narwhal by Andrea Barrett, The Shipping News by E. Annie Proulx, and Smilla’s Sense of Snow by Peter Hoeg. I also have three books on Alaska on my shelf that I haven’t had a chance to read yet: Arctic Dreams by Barry Lopez, If You Lived Here, I’d Know Your Name: News from Small-Town Alaska by Heather Lende, and Still Points North: Surviving the World’s Greatest Alaskan Childhood by Leigh  Newman.

What are your favorite wintery books?

6 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Winter

  1. Belle Wong

    When I think of a winter book, my first thought is always one of Henry Mitchell’s gardening essay books. For me, winter’s the best time to curl up with a book about flowers, plants and gardening. (Although now that we’ve moved, I don’t have a garden any more …)

    Reply
  2. Ti

    My favorite wintry book would be The Terror by Dan Simmons. Never, in all my life have I ever felt so cold. It’s partly based on fact to it was chilling. Literally.

    Reply
  3. Victoria

    I like to always re-read Little Women in the wintertime. Something about their Christmases in the novel. I want to read Snow Falling on Cedars one winter because how cold does that cover look?! Good choices on your cold weather picks. I’ve not read The Shipping News, but it has been on my TBR pile for a while now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

