Weekend Cooking: New Arrivals

I’ve been off the Weekend Cooking circuit for a little while now, not for any reason other than general weekend laziness. But I have to jump back in to show off two new cookbooks that I received as Christmas presents, one from my boss and one (picked out by me) from my husband. Men who follow directions are so sexy.

1807261. Chocolate and Zucchini: Daily Adventures in a Parisian Kitchen by Clotilde Dusoulier

My boss gave me this cookbook, and she swears that she has never made a bad recipe from it. The author writes the food blog Chocolate & Zucchini, which I had never heard of before but is apparently very popular. It’s a bit different from my usual style of cooking, but there are some interesting-sounding recipes, and it’s very French. I’ll definitely have to plan to use it soon.

90475842. Jamie’s 30 Minute Meals by Jamie Oliver

I have a bit of a crush on Jamie Oliver, and after flipping through this book at the store I immediately requested it for my Christmas gift. Jamie (we’re on a first-name basis) does some things to save time in the kitchen that I would never have considered-like boiling water in the kettle before putting it in a pot-but I’ve faithfully followed one of the recipes in the book already and I enjoyed it. I also like the way my friend Jamie uses lots of fresh herbs and spices, and the recipes are presented as complete meals, with side dishes and desserts included. This would be a great book to go to when you’re cooking for a crowd, as the portions are big.

Weekend Cooking is hosted by Beth Fish Reads and is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs…

10 thoughts on “Weekend Cooking: New Arrivals

  1. Marg

    Chocolate and Zucchini….together?

    I am a bit partial to Jamie too!

    I have his 15 minute cookbook out from the library too. I must get aroudn to having a look at it.

    Reply
  2. Beth F

    I’m always for saving a bit of time in the kitchen

    I’ve heard of that Chocolate & Zucchini book but haven’t seen it. And I love chocolate zucchini bread (a note for Marg)

    Reply
  3. Heather

    Jamie is one of my cooking muses. I fell in love with his book Jamie’s Food Revolution I even made a dish from it for a friend and her hubby who is an accomplished foodie. He liked my salmon wrapped in puff pastry. Since then I’ve bought 2 more of his books.

    Reply
  4. Christine

    Nice cookbooks! I have actually visited the Chocolate & Zucchini website a time or two in the past. Hope you find some fabulous go-to recipes in both of these books.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

