WWW Wednesday: February 6th

www_wednesdays_button

 What are you currently reading?

I just started Out of Nowhere by Maria Padian and I’m listening to Heft by Liz Moore on audio. It’s too soon to tell for the first one, but Heft is amazing so far–really liking the writing and the narration.

• What did you recently finish reading?

Last night I finished The Age of Miracles by Karen Walker Thompson. I’d been wanting to read this one for a while, and although I liked it in the end, it was touch-and-go there for a while. It takes a long time to get to the story, as there is a lot of telling and not a lot of showing. The characters are not very well developed, either, so it’s hard to feel much empathy for their situation. But the writing is good overall, and I liked the last hundred pages or so much more than the beginning. (And thus endeth my mini-review!)

• What do you think you’ll read next?

I haven’t decided what I’ll read next. I have several books to read and review that are coming out the first week in March, but I also have two books set in Africa that are looking at me from my shelf–What is the What by Dave Eggers (my February book for the Around the World in 12 Books challenge) and Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, which I need to read for my real-life book club. We’ll see what seems most tempting when the time comes…

What are you reading this week?

 

One thought on “WWW Wednesday: February 6th

Leave a Reply

